Longevity logo

REBUILD YOURSELF WITH PROTEIN- EXPERT ADVICE

HOW MUCH PROTEIN YOU NEED?

By Salman siddiquePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Do you often wonder how much protein intake would be best for you?

This week, I consulted with a new Paleo-friendly health care provider about a long-standing ligament issue. I liked her a lot, and I especially appreciated that our approaches to diet and nutrition synched. She recommended that I increase my protein intake to one gram protein per pound of [lean] body weight. She also recommended collagen supplements, and said to make sure I supplement Vitamin C and D in amounts specific for me, continue with a good multivitamin, and take zinc as directed.

Our goal is to strengthen my ligaments and connective tissue, as well as build up my muscles. We will be doing further work together.

I did not get enough protein during my years of vegan/semi-vegetarian eating, and I need to rebuild. Given it’s not easy for me to eat a lot of meat, she recommended that I obtain a very clean whey protein to supplement my other protein sources.

My whey protein supplement is Source Organic Whey–100% Grass Fed–Grass Finished. I like this product because it’s organic, grass-fed, and humanely produced. The taste is creamy, milky, and not too sweet–no added sweeteners or sugars, and it’s free of bovine growth hormone. I mix it in either organic non-homogenized whole milk, or coconut milk. Available with lecithin (makes hand stirring easier), and without (you will want to use a blender). Great product! The whey is 21 grams of protein per serving–if mixed with milk, that’s another 8 grams of protein. This product may not be suitable for those who are lactose intolerant.

When my collagen product arrives, I can cut back the whey protein to one serving, as the collagen also contains protein. This is what I ordered: Great Lakes Collagen Hydrolysate.

Alternatively, I can substitute two or three fresh pasture eggs for one protein shake. That’s a healthy choice.

Every evening for dinner, I have about eight ounces of fresh, ocean caught fish, or grass-fed beef. That’s 45-60 grams of protein, depending on which I chose. I especially like Halibut.

For a high protein snack on the run, Epic Bison Jerky Bites are great.

General recommendations that I have read across Paleo blogs and books suggest a daily intake of 0.7-1.0 grams of protein per pound of body weight.

It takes protein to maintain and repair muscle. Protein supplements are widely used by bodybuilders and athletes to promote muscle building

Currently, a large variety of protein supplements are offered, many of which make the claim to promote weight loss and boost muscle mass and strength.

According to a 2018 research, taking protein supplements dramatically increased the size and strength of muscles in healthy adults who engage in resistance training like weightlifting.

However, because protein shakes and powders are considered dietary supplements, the Food and Drug Administration does not have any control over them (FDA). As a result, nobody can ensure that a product contains what its maker says it does.

Additionally, some supplements could include illegal or harmful ingredients like pesticides or heavy metals.

It is crucial to read labels because many protein products have a lot of added sugar and calories, which can cause blood sugar to surges and weight gain.

A balanced diet may usually provide enough protein for most people, including athletes. Consistently consuming too much protein might have detrimental effects on your health.

Protein powder may help some persons with their health issues.

How much protein do you eat, and what are your sources? If you like, please share in the comment section.

Thank you for reading,

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Salman siddique

Hello Everyone!

I write interesting stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.