Longevity logo

Real Magic

The Gift of Meditation

By Marc PerainoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

There's magic in meditation. We've been taught to believe magic is that fantastical display of lights shooting from wands while wizards and witches shouting Latin-esque phrases. But real magic is less of a show and more of a feeling, an awakening to the subtler energies that are all around us and a stepping into the flow of Universal energy. Meditation provides access to this flow.

When I think back over the years, I don't remember anyone ever describing meditation as "magical". Meditation was usually discussed in the context of achieving stillness and inner peace. This is certainly an integral part of the meditative experience, but it's the stillness and inner peace that sets the stage for a more heightened awareness of oneself and one's surroundings and an enhanced sensitivity to the finer vibrations of our environment. Meditation provides a whole new way of "seeing", much like the seeing that happens through the third-eye chakra. The stillness that's achieved allows you to notice the subtler sensations that are easily drowned out by the noise of our modern-day living. And when this happens, a new perspective is gained. It's like your very own Truman Show moment.

I had first started exploring meditation back in 2015 as a way of managing symptoms of chronic anxiety. At the time I was also coming out of a deep depression that had lasted many years. It was a challenge, at first. Meditation felt uncomfortable at times. I didn't really understand the benefits of meditating beyond quieting my mind, so I wasn't quite as motivated to keep it up as I am today.

It wasn't until my dad passed away suddenly in 2018 that I sort of fell back upon meditation as a way of dealing with the incredible flood of grief and other emotions that overcame me. Meditation gave me a chance to anchor myself and find peace in the middle of a storm. But it also gave me so much more than that.

With regular practice, I came to discover that meditation could essentially renew my perception and experience of life. Meditation put me in touch with myself on a much-needed deeper level. It was probably one of the first acts of true self-love that I began practicing on a daily basis. I was giving my mind and body a chance to reset, and with time, it eventually triggered a series of deep personal healing experiences, profound inner change, and an awakening that I never really thought was possible.

There's power and purpose within stillness and relaxation that we often miss in the pursuit of simply feeling better. To be completely relaxed means to be opened up to the sensory experiences of your body. Life begins to feel refreshed. And it's not just the subtle physical sensations that you begin to pick up on, but new thoughts and new modes of thinking begin to surface. We think of meditating as slowing down and doing nothing for awhile, but in reality, meditating is like coming alive.

Occasionally, I hear people say that there's no real point to reading fantasy, or fiction in general, because "it's not real". This Miracle-on-34th-Street sentiment always breaks my heart because there is magic out there. There is wonder and beauty. We say truth is stranger than fiction, but we could also say that truth is more fantastic than fiction. In our often-pessimistic world, magic is seen as something frivolous or meaningless. Just a figment of the imagination. It's real though, and I invite anyone to tap into that magic through the simple act of meditating. If you're new to it, I suggest starting with an app like Headspace. The magic may not happen on your first try, or your tenth, but like all good things, this is something worth your time.

meditation
Like

About the Creator

Marc Peraino

Short fiction and poetry author in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.