Longevity logo

Real Lives Lived Spiritually

The Brown and Bendy Approach to Manifesting

By Jack CavanaughPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

YouTube has no shortage of spiritual content, and every unique flavor of spirituality or religion has thousands of would-be experts discussing their beliefs as well as clips from masters pasts that found their way onto a recording. When it specifically comes to Law of Attraction and like ideas, there's quite the rabbit hole of content that pops up if you've seen one Abraham-Hicks video.

One, however, stands out above the others as far as relatability and true understanding of what it means to be a human exploring what for many of us are new approaches to living life, and since I've discovered her channel, I look forward to seeing her thumbnail first in line when I open up my YouTube page. Her name is Dominique Davis aka BrownandBendy.

I’ve personally sought out spiritual content for years through books and online, and I’ve been drawn specifically to BrownandBendy over the past few months for a variety of reasons. I think I’ve always longed to have in-depth conversations about manifesting and attracting, etc., but have come to find they’re few and far between in my everyday life, or at least far more rare that I would like. The trouble with finding this content in a book or online is the twinge of condescension that many speakers have, whether it’s intentional or not. Ms. Davis NEVER comes off that way. In fact, she leaves all of her flubs in her videos almost to even laugh at herself. Especially in the time of Covid, finding a real connection with real people despite our new constraints has been more than a pleasure, but a blessing and a life-saver. Also, even though I live in a modern city surrounded by four million people, finding someone who can be real with you is still an ongoing challenge even when there’s not a pandemic happening. (side note: I live in Phoenix, AZ and we were one of the biggest hotspots in the world a few months ago. It hit us pretty hard).

Another discussion that must be had in the “spiritual world” is the idea of bypassing, especially since the last few years of our lives in America have been a case study on how belief systems can diverge so greatly and how people act when that happens. Dominique made a video discussing the subject knowing full well the kind of trolling that could result. She’s a black woman discussing the BLM movement, and had a powerful message for those who would may otherwise check out and cite “spiritual” reasons for doing so. She spoke firmly and clearly about how being a real person, creating your dream life and keeping your vibration high has NOTHING to do with pretending things are other than what they are, and I’ve made it a point to share that video with my friends who needed to hear it and were willing.

Finally, while Ms. Davis certainly has made the standard “attract money and your soulmate” videos, they don’t have the same cookie-cutter material that so many others have. Oftentimes, it seems like she’s channeling something I needed to hear in that exact moment, and honestly, the message seems to knock me off my high horse and catch me to lift me up as I’m falling off. Even with the successes I’ve had with deliberate living, I know that this is how we expand ourselves. This is how we get bigger than we were before, and stay uplifted in a grounded, honest way. We hear what makes us uncomfortable and we accept ourselves and our lives as the humans we are. More than preaching this message to her subscribers, she lives it, and her authenticity is apparent right away in how she speaks. I couldn’t be more grateful for what her words have done for me.

spirituality
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.