Longevity logo

Overcoming Insomnia

Meditations can go a long way.

By Michelle HillPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

I know I lot of people suffer from Insomnia. I'm one of them. Started when I was younger, I think I was about eight or nine. I found myself not being able to sleep, and when I did it I would only sleep for about three to four hours. I never understood why until I got older. I tried keeping a fan on at night, having the TV on, putting on a movie, even tried reading a book I didn't enjoy. But I kept finding myself not getting a full night sleep.

It got really bad when I was in my early twenties. Granted I was working three jobs back to back. But that's another story. I suffered a great deal that year. I started to fall asleep in my living room, and that helped somewhat. Then, I started drinking a cup of cocoa before I went to sleep, that helped for a bit. Just, it would only work for so long.

Even tried drinking some tea that was supposed to help me relax. Yet, nothing seemed to helping. It started getting to the point I would put on a DVD and fall asleep to a movie that I've seen over and over again. This actually worked for me for a few years. Then, I tore my ACL and I couldn't sleep again. I would just lie away scrolling through my phone, and doing research on how to fall asleep at night. That all seemed to come to an end during the summer of last year.

I took on a new position at work, and I was pulling 15 hour days, because the person before me quit her job. Leaving me to full fill orders and my nights really suffered. Until, I found myself trying to find ways to induce a lucid dream. There was a technique I found and I followed it for a good month. Boy, I tell ya, that helped tremendously. For a good month I was waking up energized and not groggy like I used to feel. Then, I discovered all types of meditations.

I just happened to be on YouTube and typed, 'How to induce a lucid dream.' Sure enough plenty of videos popped up and from there I searched. I used a certain meditation for the rest of the summer and then, I wanted to explore even more. I found meditations that would help manifest your confidence, your deepest desires, opening your third eye. The list goes on and on. They even have ones that are just relaxing sounds. There's a never ending list of these meditations.

Ever since I've started listening to these different meditations, I've been sleeping peacefully, and waking up well rested and ready for the day. I like to mix them up ever now and then. I'm really partial to the ones that have the calming voice to guide me into a deep sleep. I'll switch from a male voice for a week then, I'll listen to a female voice. Both are so calm and relaxing. If I'm being honest, it feels like a lullaby. They talk you down to relax and from there they speak softly.

It used to take me at least a good two hours before I would finally fall asleep. Now it takes me no more than twenty minutes. My mind is calm and is shut off for the rest of the night until I hear my alarm go off. The first time I tried it I woke up in shock. I was really skeptical about meditations I used to joke about them. Now I recommend them to all my friends and coworkers. But since I've started some strange things have been happening.

About halfway through writing my story, I noticed some coincidences were happening. It was as if I was predicting things, or knowing things before they even happened. I didn't notice anything until I reached chapter nine in my story. I took a break from my story, but I continued to listen to the meditations. Sure, it would take me a bit to find an interesting one, but when I did, I was able to finally relax and sleep. Strange things still have happened, to where this time I'm actually excited. For one, I've astral projected, and that was a big shock.

I even had another lucid dream. I also came really close to seeing my Akashic Records. That will be another post at another time. I never knew these would help until last year. I've listening to them for a full year, and granted I still go to sleep a little late, but not as late as I used to. I'm getting a full night's rest and waking up with more energy than before. I highly recommend just listening to some. They've helped me for a year and continue to help.

It's hard to fall asleep with your mind running. Trying to just clear your mind, or even counting sheep; the old fashion way. I've heard having young children makes it hard to sleep as well. There's a breathing exercise that helps too. So maybe if you can't listen to a meditation because you have to be up with a baby, try to find a breathing exercise. Which has not only helped me, but a few of my friends. Give it a try and if it works for you, stick with it. If not, then there are other ways to help you sleep.

We all want a full night's rest. It's just hard to come by with the busy world we live in. We just have to find that right solution to help us. Once we discover that, we wake up well rested and ready to take on the day. Most of time before I go to sleep my mind is already game planning for the next day. But as soon as I put on a meditation all my worries are gone. A peaceful night's rest is what everyone needs.

You'll be able to find a way to get that. It may take a few tries, but you'll find something that will work for you. Before you know you'll be ready to take on the day and feel so much better. So if you're finding it hard to fall asleep, check out a meditation, or a soothing music. You'll be asleep in no time.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.