Longevity logo

On the road again

only time will tell

By Kc NcsyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

My daughter asked me not to pick her up from school tonight at the dinner table. Which is odd, given shes a daddys girl. Then she explained that it was because she was embarrassed that some of the kids always said, "heres your fat dad" when I came ti pick her up. Shes 5.

Suitcases and boxes of clothes 2-3 sizes too small for me now are dragged from house to house. Each move reminding me of how much I'm failing. Failing to take care of myself.

Failing to set an example for my 3 kids.

Failing my wife.

but I wake up th next morning feeling the usual rush of motivation and that , THIS TIME IM ALL IN!

THIS TIME ITS FOR REAL!

THIS TIME I REALLY NEED THIS!

But only time will tell.

Will I meet my goal.

Will I make my daughter not embarrassed of me.

Will I set good examples for my family.

Will I live long enough to enjoy lifes true gifts.

Will I start enjoying life today?

I restated my weight loss journey 6 months ago. It had its usual set backs; including some injuries from my running which I’ll spare you the details about the ingrown toe nail, but it was the first time that happened.

I also travel a lot for work, but had a lot of great accomplishments in my first few trips

-kept to my workout routine

-even when the hotel gym was closed, I took my running to the streets.

On one trip I flew in from over seas, where I’m based, and had an overnight in LAX then midday flight to Vegas. And so I laced up and went for a run through/ around LAX. Was pretty cool.

I also tried intermittent fasting. My brother was pushing me to try it with him and I was always VERY skeptical of it and due to y IBS, I don’t do well after fasting. So I said fine, and I tried 16/8 fasting; which is 16 hours fasting and 8 hours eating. It was actually pretty easy to get accustomed to and felt fine. It helped me to make sure I ate with me kids at 7pm, instead ater they went to sleep, like 9pm, and then in the morning I would have water, tea or coffee to last me till 10 if I felt I needed it, but usually till 11.

So I’d eat from 11am-7pm and then fast.

Problem was that I wouldn’t really be hungry at 11am; and would be ok energy wise. Was even doing my workouts in the morning pre-eating. But once I did eat I would feel sick for quite a while, regardless of what I ate, and if I was on the road or running around and didn’t take food with me I could go till 3 or 4 pm without eating and then I’d feel really sick. Other issues was I wasn’t so careful on what I was eating.

In short, after 4 months I saw zero results and so I stopped.

So now I’m back on low carb and low sugar ; trying to eat protein and fruits/veggies and nuts for snacks.

I’ not much of drinker, but even been cutting back on that.

When I do travel I don’t really go off program that much as Its usually a conference and so I’m on my feat all day.

So now that I’ve been home for a while with all this virus going on, been trying to up y running: helped a local group with their social media for a marathon, to raise money which meant I had to run in it, which I figured would motivate me. It was canceled of course, but it got me out with 2 of my kids even and we signed up for the 5k. I actually ran the 10k of this race 2 years ago and it was tough as its very hilly, but hopefully we’ll do it next year.

Found some amazing trails for running near my new house so that’s always fun; and then we got put in lockdown.

And this week I had a really cool opportunity to go for a run with my oldest son, 9yrs old, who I taught to ride a bike recently. So I ran as he rode along side me, just as I used to do with my dad. It was really special.

I always come back from a run on a high and start spitting ideas out at my wife of colleagues about what we should do about different projects were working on. Its so energetic and lethargic. But, running while watching your little one on the street and him wanting to talk non stop and not understanding why his dads so out of breath he cant talk, no so much. But still, was an awesome experience.

Pre-lockdown I was running out of my town into the fields which ha a small path and then wraps around and connects to a proper hiking trail which is winding and very hilly and ends in the front back at my complex.

Due to the virus, I’ve been stuck running a mile out, then a 10 lap mile around a soccer field, which is soft on my feet, but oh so boing, and then mile back home.

The ten laps get to me. I can barely even run on a regular track because its boring.

But, the times we live in…..

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.