Longevity logo

Obsession: One Key Thing for Achieving Fitness Goals

The Obsessed Mindset

By Vince LatrasPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

People who are successful in their field have a big obsession with what they want to achieve. As a fitness enthusiast, I believe that I have made great changes on my goals and become successful at it due to my obsession with wanting a change. However, I am talking about obsession in a way that keeps us moving forward towards our goals and not when it comes down to start controlling our life.

So why do most people fail in their goals they have been wanting to achieve, such as losing weight, getting a six-pack, or building muscle? From my own experience, and from having a conversation with different types of people hearing their own excuses, is that they don’t want it enough to work hard for it. Trust me, I always hear the most common and cliche excuses such as, “I can’t be arsed” or “I don’t have time for it.”

To become successful on your fitness goals or any type of goals is to have a good kind of obsession. Since I was a kid, I was bullied and felt weak next to the other guys. After getting beaten up from a few fights, I wanted to be strong. The thought of wanting to get stronger kept going through my mind so I began to work out. Once I started to work out for a few weeks, I noticed slight changes and from there I became obsessed.

Sooo yes! You need to want it hard enough to trigger change! If the thought of wanting to have a better body than you currently have keeps going through your mind then you already have a slight obsession. The only difference is that you need to start doing the action. Obsession is kind of like a preparation for you to start the action, or in other words, another way of long-term motivation.

Have you ever had a good workout session and the feeling afterward is phenomenal? That is because of the release of endorphins, adrenaline, dopamine, and serotonin, which are all “feel good” hormones. There are so many benefits that exercise does to us including psychological, physiological, social, and personality to name a few.

These results from exercise are what kept me going, as well as most people who are now obsessed because of the good results it gives. It does have quite the same principle when eating a delicious food. Now you’re obsessed because it feels good eating it right? However, when it comes to exercise hard work comes first, then you will experience feeling good after a workout in the short-term, and feeling good due to the changes we get from long-term effects of exercise.

For most people, they don’t want to go through hard work which is why they don’t get enough benefits to have an enthusiastic mindset. My own opinion of obsession (in a good way) for this topic is a mindset that will keep us wanting to achieve our goal to get the benefits.

So the conclusion of this whole article is if you just sort of want it, then you might need to rethink your decision. Ask yourself this question, “How obsessed do I really want to be to achieve this goal?" If your obsession scale rate is over 9/10, then stop any excuses!

Find the time, stop complaining, and eliminate the habits that kill your time because there is someone in the world who may be working 12 hours, five times a week with responsibilities, who still manages to be successful on his/her fitness goals. So don’t just sit there and do nothing. Go start your journey and be obsessed with the benefits it provides!

Follow me on Instagram @vince_latras

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Vince Latras

A fitness enthusiast and aspiring personal trainer. I am dedicated on changing people lives not just through fitness but also within mindset by writing my own thoughts and opinions.

Instagram @vince_latras & @charlotte_amie7

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.