Longevity logo

New Year-Old Me

Resolutions and Dissolutions

By J.B. MillerPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
New Year-Old Me
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Well, I have survived another year of the Apocolypse and am keeping things as normal as possible-ish. However, keeping traditions alive is essential in these trying times, and one of the most infamous ones known to the western world is New Year resolutions.

This idea of making promises to ourselves has been around for a while. Say, 4000 years or so. But, who knew we have been making promises to ourselves as a cultural norm for so long? It began in ancient Babylonia. For more information on the history of it, look here. It's an exciting read!

I have learned a few things after living on this spinning ball of madness that we call Earth for forty-four years. One is that there is a standard for New Year's resolutions. The same old promises we make every year, hoping that this year will be the one where we keep the deal we made with ourselves.

All The Usual Suspects:

Lose weight: This has got to be number one on every list come January first. New Year, New Me has been a slogan for years now. I have to admit I applaud the people who can do this. So far, I have failed miserably. This year might be my year, but I'm not going to bet the farm on it. I have solidly hit that mid-life spread!

Exercise more: Exercising more and losing weight go hand in hand.

Gym member new year resolutions statistics

12% of all new members join in January [IHRSA — 2019]

Between the start of the New Year and February eighth (2018), gym attendance grew by 6%, while fast-food visits dropped by 4.6%. [FourSquare — 2018]

4% of the new year gym members quit by the end of January, 14% quit by the end of February, and 50% quit within 6 months. [IHRSA — 2019]

The above stats were found at runrepeat.com

As you can see, loads of people join the gym with good intentions, but the road to hell, as they say, is paved with them. For myself, I exercise a lot. Not in a gym, though I am thinking about joining one. More for the stress relief than the exercise. I have horses, dogs and children. I run around a lot! I will let you know if that comes to pass. I would, however, need to carve a few more hours into the day.

Eat Healthier: Are you starting to see the trend here? New Year's resolutions seem to rotate around our physical or mental selves. I mean, I 100 per cent agree that we need to eat healthier. Fast food has so much to answer for! When I was younger, rarely did we eat out. It was always home-cooked meals, and they were enormous! But we were always working, moving and on the go. You didn't stop until your head hit the pillow at night. Nowadays, our lives are slower. We spend more time online, sitting down and not doing a lot. Maybe we should reset back to the '80s without all the smoking and try again!

Budget better: This has to be the bane of every semi-functioning adult in the world. Most arguments in the home tend to be about money. You can't eat it, wear it, or live in it, but without the blasted stuff, society doesn't work. Bring back barter! (Just kidding, kind of.)

Quit drinking/smoking: I don't have to deal with this one, but many people do. And smoking is an addiction, just like drinking and can be incredibly hard to kick if you are trying to stop or reduce your habit then well done! Ignore anyone who gives you a hard time or belittles your efforts. What you are doing is akin to climbing Everest. It's a long journey, and you have to take it one step at a time and keep going even if you stumble. You are worth the effort, and not only will your health improve, but imagine all the extra money for your new budget plan!

Spend more time with family and friends: This one is a little more tricky these days of social distancing, but it's doable. Pick up the phone and call someone. You might need to text them beforehand. First, no one answers the phone anymore, and Lord forbid, you go to someone's house when they are not expecting you. It's like an invasion and all hands are on deck ready to repel the invaders. However, it is well worth it to call that cousin you haven't spoken to in ages. Call grandma and tell her you love her. Find out how the kids are doing. Sometimes, it's nice to hear another person's voice.

By Andrew Petrov on Unsplash

Overall, New Year's resolutions promise that you will become a better version of yourself. I honestly don't think it matters if you succeed at everything you try. It's more the trying that matters. It means that you care enough about yourself to attempt to improve your life. That is what is important.

This year I resolve to find my muchness.

I want to become more me. Do more of what I love to do and be who I am. That included being a wife, mother, writer and equestrian. I want to enjoy life to the fullest, to forget about the everyday stresses that tend to weigh me down and, as Elsa said, 'Let it go.'

There is so much demand on people today. It often feels like living under a microscope, where everyone is watching your every move. Am I a good enough mom? Have I done enough for the animals? What about my husband? Lord forbid I write something that offends someone. Because let's face it, the world is becoming a place where saying hello can offend people. Somehow, in all that madness that is modern living, I became a neurotic, anxiety-ridden version of myself. So this year, I have promised that I will rediscover me. Who I used to be, the me that I was happy to be.

Twenty years ago, I couldn't care less what others thought of me. I knew I was an awesome human being. Stress didn't bother me, and life was good. So, this year I'm reclaiming that version of me. Finally, my kids will see the person I am underneath all the stress. Honestly, it's already begun. It began in November when I came down with Covid.

I was sick, and I mean very sick. I was sent to the hospital twice, and my oxygen levels dropped to 89 constantly, they wouldn't go above 94. I ran a fever of 103 for three weeks even though I was taking Tylenol and Ibuprophin every four hours. My lungs filled with fluid, I could not sit up, and the only way I could breathe was to lay on one side and let the fluid drain to one side, so I had one functioning lung.

Being so sick made me realise how precious life is. It took me a month to leave the house and walk unaided. Thankfully, I am mostly recovered and back to normal, but it left a lasting impression. I no longer worry about the little things in life that bog you down. All those everyday things that bothered me and stressed me to the breaking point are gone. We can make due when money is short, the kids don't have to have the latest and greatest, and my husband loves me because I'm me, not because I do all the things a wife should do. The animals are happy and cared for, and my family is happy and whole. There is nothing more I could ask.

Life is short, and I have realised that. So, this year I am rediscovering my muchness, letting go of the stress, relaxing and living my life to the fullest. Like Alice, I will do six impossible things before breakfast every day, even if it's sleeping in and telling the kids to eat cereal.

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.