Longevity logo

My Weight Loss Journey

Mind over matter.

By NaimaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

Hi, my name is Naima.

For the past four years, my weight has changed drastically. I've always been the average size for my height and I worked out three times a week during my teen years to stay in shape. Something happened in college where I completely lost myself. I lost interest in everything that I loved, I didn't know who I was and who I wanted to be. I guess some people will say that I was depressed and maybe I was? IDK. But I was definitely in a "funk" that lasted for a while. I didn't know who I wanted to talk to or what to even talk to them about. So I went on with my life being in a funk. I gained weight and I fell out of love with myself. For some people, weight gain is something that is easy to change by going on a diet and working out. But for some of us, working out and eating healthy is easier said than done. I would go grocery shopping where I bought healthy food, but that didn't matter. My mind wanted something else. I remember crying to my mom last year about how I wanted to lose weight and I didn't know where to start. My mother decided that she wanted to help me by getting me a personal trainer and a nutritionist. She held me accountable for whenever I wanted to go back to my old eating habits and pushed me to see my trainer twice every week. Weight loss isn't complicated, but unfortunately, our brain makes it out to be. Is it hard eating healthy? Kind of. Is it hard working out? Kind of. I'm only saying kind of because once you get used to it, it becomes easier. Once you start experimenting with healthier food options, then eating healthy isn't that bad. Once you start working out regularly and find your own rhythm, fitness becomes enjoyable, therapeutic even.

I know that losing weight is hard work, and trust me, I'm still not where I want to be. But every month, I try to make a new goal and hold myself accountable. I eat healthy, but not too healthy to where I start to miss unhealthy food. I try to workout as often as I can. I found certain workouts that I love and aren't too hard for me to do. One of my favorite things to do is walk on the treadmill for an hour a day while listening to my favorite podcasts. I decided to start blogging on this site because I know there are so many people out there like me who want to see change in our diet and our body, but there's something holding them back. Trust me, I've been there before and even now that I'm a year into my health journey, I still struggle. You just have to remind yourself that everyone is struggling with something and yours just happens to be weight loss.

weight loss
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.