Longevity logo

My Weight Loss Journey

First Month

By CarriePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Weight Loss Journey
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Hello all so when I first started this journey, I did not do it on a whim, but I also did not plan to start a weight loss journey either. It was a few factors that led me to start it and if you read my first story, I explain some of them. I started doing a weekly story but found it difficult to find things to talk about other than giving an update of my actual weight loss. My life usually consists of work and if I am not at work I am at home. I do not have amazing adventures or something interesting that happens in my life very often, so I decided to make my stories monthly instead. So, this is my story for the month of November.

As we go into the holiday season this is a tough challenge for anyone trying to lose weight. Thanksgiving has come and gone by now, but I was able to survive and not eat as much as I usually do. How? Well Thanksgiving is not the toughest holiday for me because for me that is Christmas. When I think of Thanksgiving, when it comes to food, I think of turkey, ham, and some sides. Now being the picky eater that I am I do not eat everything that is served at Thanksgiving and because of that I believe it helped me.

Christmas is another story because like Halloween I think of candy and sweets and that is a danger for me. I have a couple favorites and that is two chocolate chip cookies with icing in between them. YUM! Another favorite is reese cups and not just any reese cups, but the holiday reeses they have. An example is the Christmas one is in the shape of a tree and the valentine’s day one is a heart. My last favorite is peanut butter bark that my mom makes every year. I have so many more favorites but those are the top ones I love to have every year. You can see my problem, right?

I have come to a decision that I may gain a little weight this Christmas season or I may not, but if I do, I will know because it was Christmas that it was a big possibility. My only hope is that I do not gain back all that I have lost so far.

So, moving on to the update for the month of November. After my last story I have weighted myself four more times with today being the fourth. According to my last story I weighted 197.4lbs and the next weigh-in I went to 196.6 which was not much, but still a loss. My next weigh-in I went up ironically to 197.4 and if that was not ironic enough after that one my next weigh in, I went back down to 196.6. How strange was that? I could not believe that I gained and lost the same amount I had to laugh about it. I will say that I was not discouraged because even though I gained weight, one it was not much that I gained back and two I lost it by my next weigh in. So, what is today’s weigh in you ask? Well, I am happy to report that I am now at 195.4 which put me down 7.2lbs since I started this weight loss journey on September 18th.

I knew that this would be a long journey to reach my goal and I accepted that. I am not killing myself to try to lose a bunch of weight at one time. I am happy to have any weight loss even if it is a half a pound. I do not want to lose all this weight I am trying to, to just gain it all back once I get to my end goal. That is a mistake that many do by trying to lose it too fast.

This month has had its ups and downs, but I believe the hardest will be the month of December. Does it mean I am going to put my weight loss on hold because I know it will be tough? No, I am not it just means I must try harder to keep doing what I am doing to not completely lose control. Wish me luck and I will be back next year to share the outcome with everyone.

For those who celebrate I hope you had a great Thanksgiving and have a Merry Christmas! Thanks for reading.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Carrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.