Longevity logo

My Weight Loss Journey

Week Two

By CarriePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
12
My Weight Loss Journey
Photo by alan KO on Unsplash

Two weeks ago I started a weight loss journey doing the Calorie Deficient diet which is where you eat no more than a certain amount of calories a day. It has been a pretty easy week, though usually when you start something new you can keep it up for a few weeks. After that the seriousness of what you're doing hits you. Some can't maintain the restrictions and some test the boundaries by saying 'well today I can eat more than I should because I can just eat less tomorrow'. The only problem with that; and I know it is for me is, that it becomes a constant thought and before you know you're not doing the diet.

So before I get to the results of my second week I want to share a story and speak on the highs and lows of the week. This is not why I started this diet, but I have a co-worker who is going for weight loss surgery in February. You can tell whatever the doctors are telling her to do to get ready for the surgery has helped her immensely on losing weight, it did give me some inspiration to try as well. What I mentioned in my week one story TikTok was what got me wanting to do it, but seeing my co-worker work on it just confirmed I was going to do it. Now because my co-worker is on this weight loss journey and I started it as well, this journey has spread to a couple other co-workers. I have never really had anyone to do a weight loss journey with and other than sharing everything with you guys, having my co-workers doing it together is amazing and keeps me striving toward my goal.

So now for the highs and lows of my journey week two. For the lows there were none this time, but stay tuned because I am sure in the weeks to come there will be some. One of the high's this week was staying away from soda's. My parents all they really had in form of soda was diet pepsi, so I grew up drinking those. I don't know if it is true or not, but it is said that diet soda's are just as bad as regular sodas. Anyway, I went a whole week without dinking a single diet pepsi. I did buy the 7.5fl oz. cans of diet pepsi, mountain dew and regular pepsi, so occasionally I can have one, but I have not drank any. I don't want to get rid of everything I love to eat or drink because then I will fail at this diet.

The last high this week was I am starting to take notice on how many calories and carbs I am consuming. I will say that if you look at all the nutrient labels you come to realize just how much you are eating compared to how much the label says to eat. I am still learning to read the nutrient labels, but I am doing better than I was. For instance when it comes to chips, I would just pick up a bag that I like and not pay attention to how many chips I could have for it to be a serving size. Sometimes I could eat the whole bag without realizing I had eaten the whole bag. A trick I do to make sure I eat per serving size is I take zip lock bags and put the amount of chips recommended in each bag. It becomes a grab and go snack and you don't have to work about eating too much.

Now to what you all have been waiting for; the results of the week. If you read my first story you know I started at 202.6 and after the first week I went to 202.2. With Sunday morning being my weigh in day I am now at 200.6 and I am so excited. I know my weight may go up and down, but my goal come Sunday is that my weight is down even if it is 0.1lbs down. As long as it keeps going down I know I am doing something right. Now if it does go up it just means I need to make some adjustments, but not give up on reaching my goal of 125lbs.

I hope you all enjoyed my week two story and I will be back next week with another update.

weight loss
12

About the Creator

Carrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.