Longevity logo

My Plant-Based Journey

The Tipping Point of Consciousness

By Catrin DonnellyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I made the decision to become a plant-based (vegan) eater a year and a half ago. It wasn't a tough one, as a matter of fact, nothing has ever made so much sense. It all started in Vietnam, the destination where my friend and I became acquaintances with an already converted vegan. Sure, I had heard the term before but never had I looked into it. At that point, I already didn't eat too much meat and my dairy intake had been reduced since my dad was diagnosed with lymphoma back in 2012. I was practically a quarter of a way there!

During our stay in Vietnam, my friend and I were exposed to the plant-based world. It was interesting, to say the least. My mind was turned at the prospect of actually thinking of where my food came from. I have always been a health conscious person but never had I really put any thought into the sentient beings who were behind the food we put into our mouths.

Intrigued and appealed by the thought of a vegan diet, we made the steps to get our facts right and find out what it was all about. Earthlings. That was all it took for me to stop eating meat. One documentary showcasing the horrors of animal agriculture and I was done. Never have I eaten meat since that day. I couldn't, physically couldn't. My entire belief system was blown up and reset in a matter of hours. The shift I went through was so profound, I couldn't have predicted it myself. From there we went on to watch the rest of the proof of why we should become vegan, and lo and behold, we did.

The trifecta of becoming a vegan is down to three primary reasons: animal welfare, global warming, and health. That's all it took for me to change my lifestyle and become an advocate for veganism. I have never looked back since and can say that it was one of the best decisions I had ever made.

A year and a half later, the vegan/plant-based movement is gaining momentum and is becoming a global change. No longer are people trying to keep their vegan choices hush hush. Today we stand proud, knowing that we are making a difference. I would argue that the most surprising aspect of becoming a vegan is the change in mindset. I cannot recall another time where I have suddenly seen things in the clearest of light.

Collectively as humans, we are all slowly becoming more conscious. People are slowly understanding that veganism is the future, you might not want to hear it, but it's true. The immoral culture that has been normalized and suppressed by the giant corporate names is slowly disintegrating. I am becoming more and more proud as organizations and collectives around the world being to embrace veganism in its raw form. One day, it will be the norm. One day we will all realize exactly what we have been doing and forgive ourselves for not realizing it sooner.

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

Catrin Donnelly

Currently trying to discover my passion for writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.