Longevity logo

My Journey

WEIGHT LOSS

By Megan NajeraPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Over 100 pounds gone

You know we never see ourselves how people see us. The picture on the left, I thought I was cute AF. Then a year later, a friend took another picture of me while we were celebrating my aunts birthday and then I was WTF????!!!!??? I was soooooo mad at myself for letting my body get like this. I was nearly 300 lbs. I sat there and cried. I yelled at my husband and asked him why he never said anything. I wanted to blame someone else, but at the end of the day this was all on me.

Let me go back a little bit, when I was in high school, I was not a big girl, but I wasn't the skinny girl either. I was always very self-conscious about the way I looked, but was never fully focused on it. I was the band geek and honors student who wanted to make sure that my grades were good and that I got into a good college, so my weight and looks never really mattered to me until I met my daughters dad. We were seniors, and I got pregnant at 18, so things changed for me at that point.

After my daughters dad and I seperated, I was on my own with her. Two years later, I met my husband. We dated for 2 years before we got married. In that time, I got comfortable with him and let my body go. Even when we got married, I had put weight on, but I didn't think I had looked that bad. Over time, my weight basically got worse. Which leads me to the choice to finally lose the weight.

When I made this choice, I knew it was going to be a hard one. This has literally been a 10 year process. Before you ask, I did not have surgery. I did this all on my own through working out and watching what I ate. I tried all the different diet fads first, and I did give up at one point. Told myself that it wasn't worth the trouble. As my kids were getting older, I realized that I could not keep up with them. My husband was never home because of his job, so it was all on me. That was the final straw. I got off my ass and got going.

I finally got introduced to crossfit and thats where everything change. I found something that kicked my ass and I loved it. The stress relief the workouts gave me was the best. Over the next few years, I kept up with everything and saw the weight just fall.

I recently had to stop going because of my sons baseball schedule, but I still have maintained my weight loss by working out at home and going to a regular gym. I have been told that I am an inspiration for people. I don't see myself as that. I honestly don't know how I feel when people say that to me. All I know is I CAN NEVER GO BACK TO THAT! Also, make sure your significant other has your back through the process. My husband decided at one point, not to have my back and keep me motivated. I was accused of doing it all for attention, so I could leave him at a certain point.He even went as far as accusing me of cheating on him. I didn't do it for him. I did this for myself and my kids. I was never able to keep up with my two boys. I needed to be able to keep with them and their crazy sports schedules. I wanted to be able to see them achieve their goals in life, get married...things like that.

When you decide to do something for yourself, make sure you do it. Don't stop just because someone else doesn't like what is going on and the changes that come with it.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Megan Najera

I am a 39 year old mom of 3 amazing kids. One in college, one in high school, and one in the 8th grade. My life pretty much revolves around my 2 that are still home because they are involved in sports.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.