Longevity logo

My first waxing experience

Editor- Alex

By VitalCarePublished about a year ago 7 min read

I’ve always hated my body hair. Ever since I hit puberty, I felt like a hairy beast that needed to be tamed. I tried everything to get rid of it: shaving, plucking, threading, bleaching, depilatory creams, you name it. But nothing worked for me. Shaving left me with stubble and razor bumps. Plucking and threading were too time-consuming and painful. Bleaching made my skin look weird and unnatural. Depilatory creams smelled awful and burned my skin.

I was desperate for a solution that would make me feel smooth and confident. That’s when I discovered waxing. Waxing seemed like the perfect answer to my hairy woes. It promised to remove the hair from the root, leaving me with silky skin for weeks. It also claimed to reduce the hair growth over time, making it thinner and sparser. I was intrigued and decided to give it a try.

My first waxing experience

I booked an appointment at a local salon that offered waxing services. I decided to start with my legs, since they were the most visible and bothersome part of my body hair. I was nervous and excited as I walked into the salon. The receptionist greeted me warmly and led me to a small room where the waxing would take place.

The room had a bed covered with a white sheet, a heater with a pot of hot wax, and some wooden sticks and cloth strips on a table. The esthetician who would perform the waxing introduced herself as Maria and asked me to undress from the waist down and lie on the bed. She assured me that she was experienced and professional and that I had nothing to worry about.

She then proceeded to apply some talcum powder on my legs to absorb any moisture and oil. She dipped a wooden stick into the hot wax and spread it on a small section of my leg. She then pressed a cloth strip on top of the wax and rubbed it firmly. She told me to take a deep breath and then quickly pulled the strip off in the opposite direction of the hair growth.

I screamed in pain as I felt a surge of heat and stinging on my skin. It felt like someone had ripped off a band-aid from an open wound. Maria apologized and said that it would get easier as we went along. She repeated the process on another section of my leg, and then another, and another.

Each time she pulled off a strip, I felt a wave of agony wash over me. I clenched my teeth and tried to distract myself by thinking of something else, but nothing helped. I wondered how anyone could endure this torture on a regular basis.

After what seemed like an eternity, Maria finished waxing both of my legs. She wiped off any remaining wax with some oil and applied some soothing lotion on my skin. She told me to get dressed and gave me some aftercare tips: avoid hot water, sun exposure, tight clothing, and exfoliating products for at least 24 hours; moisturize daily; and come back in four to six weeks for a touch-up.

I thanked her and paid for the service, feeling relieved that it was over. I looked at my legs in the mirror and saw that they were red and swollen, with tiny dots of blood where the hairs had been pulled out. They looked worse than before.

The aftermath of waxing

I hoped that my legs would heal quickly and look smooth and hair-free soon. But that didn’t happen. Instead, they became more irritated and inflamed as the days went by. I developed ingrown hairs, which are hairs that grow back into the skin instead of outwards. They caused bumps, pus, itching, and infection on my legs.

I tried to treat them with some home remedies, such as warm compresses, tea tree oil, and salicylic acid, but nothing worked. I ended up having to go to a dermatologist who prescribed me some antibiotics and topical creams to clear up the infection.

The dermatologist also told me that waxing was not suitable for my skin type and hair texture. He explained that waxing can cause trauma to the skin and damage the hair follicles, leading to inflammation, scarring, hyperpigmentation, or even permanent hair loss in some cases.

He advised me to stop waxing altogether and look for other methods of hair removal that are gentler on the skin, such as shaving or laser hair removal.

My alternative solution: red light therapy

I was devastated by what had happened to my legs after waxing. I felt like I had ruined them forever. I was ashamed to show them in public or wear anything that exposed them. I regretted ever trying waxing in the first place.

I started looking for other ways to reduce my hair growth that would not harm my skin or cause more problems. That’s when I came across red light therapy. Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level red light to stimulate cellular activity and healing in the body. Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to help with various skin conditions, such as acne, wrinkles, scars, and wounds.

But what caught my attention was that red light therapy can also help with hair growth. Red light therapy can either stimulate or inhibit hair growth, depending on the wavelength and intensity of the light. Red light therapy can stimulate hair growth by increasing blood flow and oxygen to the scalp, which nourishes the hair follicles and promotes the production of new hair. This can be beneficial for people who suffer from hair loss or thinning hair.

On the other hand, red light therapy can also inhibit hair growth by damaging the hair follicle and preventing it from producing new hair. This can be beneficial for people who want to get rid of unwanted hair on their body or face. Red light therapy can target the hair follicle without harming the surrounding skin, unlike other methods like laser hair removal or electrolysis.

Red light therapy is a safe and convenient treatment that you can do at home with a red light therapy cap. A red light therapy cap is a device that fits over your head and emits red light to your scalp or face. You can use it for 10 to 20 minutes a day, depending on your needs and goals. Red light therapy caps are easy to use and have no side effects or downtime.

Red light therapy caps can help you achieve permanent or gradual hair reduction, depending on the wavelength and intensity of the light. Some red light therapy caps have adjustable settings that allow you to switch between stimulating and inhibiting hair growth modes. You can use them to treat different areas of your body or face, such as your eyebrows, upper lip, chin, cheeks, legs, arms, bikini area, or chest.

My experience with red light therapy

I decided to give red light therapy a try and ordered a red light therapy cap online. It arrived in a few days and I was eager to use it. I read the instructions carefully and set the cap to the inhibiting mode. I put it on my head and turned it on. I felt a warm and soothing sensation on my skin as the red light penetrated it.

I used the cap for 20 minutes every day for a month. I noticed that my hair growth slowed down significantly after the first week. My hair became thinner and finer after the second week. By the fourth week, I barely had any hair left on my legs.

I was amazed by the results. My legs looked smooth and flawless, without any irritation or ingrown hairs. They felt soft and silky to the touch. I was proud to show them off in shorts and skirts.

I continued using the cap for another month to maintain my results. I also used it on other areas of my body where I wanted to reduce my hair growth, such as my underarms and bikini area. The cap worked wonders on those areas too.

I was so happy with my experience with red light therapy that I recommended it to all my friends who had similar issues with their body hair. They were skeptical at first, but after they tried it for themselves, they were convinced too.

Red light therapy changed my life for the better. It helped me get rid of my unwanted hair and boost my confidence and self-esteem. It also saved me a lot of time, money, and hassle that I used to spend on waxing and other methods of hair removal.

If you’re looking for a way to reduce your hair growth permanently or gradually, without pain or side effects, you should definitely try red light therapy. You won’t regret it!

What do you think?

Have you ever tried waxing or red light therapy? What was your experience like? Do you have any questions or comments about these methods of hair removal? Please share them below. I’d love to hear from you!

beauty

About the Creator

VitalCare

Share the story of audience every day, and provide relevant advice on hair growth, weight loss, skin care, etc. Your health matters to us!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VitalCareWritten by VitalCare

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.