Longevity logo

My Dream Job Has Always Been "Rockstar"

Thank you for showing up today, as we share another win together.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Vocal Video (14)

I Can Stop At Any Time

I can either stop, and avoid a challenge, or find a way to climb that wall. And if I can't climb it, I can do everything in my power to go around it, dig under it, or maybe even plough right through.

The only difference is the choice I make.

What Did I Accomplish This Year

  • I knew when it was time to ask for help
  • I started a blog and a podcast
  • I changed jobs
  • I had the courage to walk away from what wasn't suiting me
  • bought new bed sheets
  • bought new towels
  • a pressure cooker
  • perfected my soup making abilities
  • found my beloved meditation group

My Body Needs Water to Thrive

  • My body needs to run to feel centered
  • My body needs rest for my head to clear

What Do I Need From My Community?

  • I need for my community to change sometimes, so I can realize how much I appreciate them
  • My community needs more of my homemade soup
  • Where I live, does not necessarily dictate my community

What Do I Need From Myself?

I need space from myself. I need space from my own head. I need empathy from myself.

My body needs me.

My mind needs space.

My heart needs to love.

My community needs to change.

From myself, I need latitude.

My Leaves-of-Absences

I chose twice this year to temporarily separate myself from unhealthy work environments. I needed to take care of myself. During these times, I created and grew a blog and a podcast, for the purpose of sharing my experiences. I struggled with the loss of a younger cousin, and a very funny friend.

My Arms Are Wings

When my life got tough, I turned to that crazy therapist. I took a chance, and I flew. I have decided to take on this thing, whether I run it or not.

I am proud of my resilience.

December 31, 2020

I discovered that I had a number of extended family members, who were just as curious about me as I was of them.

I am indeed more hopeful because I took a month to empty out my insides, so I could prepare my outsides.

Good things might be waiting for me in 2021: An unexpected success for the "P" project, and complete eradication of COVID.

One final breath and salutation over my pen and notebook.

In 2021, I Will Be . . .

I will be in greater control of my energy, as I continue to create my path, and travel down that road.

In 2021 I will complete the "P" project. It matters to me because it's a beautiful story, which needs to be told. It is a gift which I have been given. I know I can do it because I am capable, creative, and I know how the machine works. It needs to be fed.

The love is all around me.

I am a whole person.

Breathing space. More self compassion. Be present with people, and my environment. Life is precious.

Thank you for showing up.

Carry your intention.

Personal & Work Values

  • An honest day's work for an honest day's pay
  • Live and let live
  • Don't take any of this too seriously.

I do not receive any emotional fulfillment from the work I do. Yes I do need to earn more money, job security, and especially adequate time away from work.

My dream job has always been "rockstar." But I now want to be the Karen Lichtman version of Rich Roll and/or Casey Neistat. I would also love to earn a living by giving my vegan burritos and soup away for free, and make health and fitness free and accessible to everyone.

I feel that this is my calling, instead of a grind.

Are my internal values more or less important than the external things I receive? It depends. Are my bills getting paid? Do I have a bit of dough for leisure activities? Or is every day a struggle? And how is that struggle affecting me?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.