Longevity logo

My Definition of Loneliness

And the Life Changing Lessons it Taught Me

By Abalean MillerPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

Loneliness. As a society, we have accepted loneliness to be a bad thing, but that isn’t always the case. In my almost 22 years of life, I have experienced loneliness on more than one occasion. In those moments that I have felt truly alone, I grew. In the terms loneliness, we tend to think that it means that you are completely alone. I think that people don’t realize that often when someone is feeling lonely they have others around them. Loneliness is not defined by one definition out of a dictionary. It is defined by each person who experiences it. It is defined by the way that each person experiences it. This is my definition of loneliness.

I experienced true loneliness for the first time when I was 16. I had just had surgery to remove my gallbladder and it was my first time back to school. I had been excited to return to all the people that I thought noticed that I had been gone. As I walked through the building of this massive high school I went to, no one even seemed to notice me. Not one person asked me why I had been gone for so long, not even people I thought were my friends. Not one person felt my absence. Not one person happy to see me return. I went to a school that had almost 2000 students and not a single person even realized that I had missed over a month of school. This was the epitome of loneliness. I came home that day and never wanted to go back. Now looking back on it I realize that this was the beginning of the transformation in my life and experiencing loneliness was a crucial part of the change.

I had always been the type of person that didn’t get lonely. I always had family or friends around me. I also had a passion for reading so if I wasn’t spending time with real people I was spending it with fictional people in the pages of a book. So, when all the sudden I felt completely alone, I also began to feel completely lost. I began to read a lot. That was the only time that I didn’t feel alone. Eventually, even reading was no longer a comfort to me. I had no choice but to thrive in my loneliness. I had no choice but to find comfort in being lonely.

I began to learn a lot about myself. I learned that I let the wrong people into my life, and they had too much influence over my life. I learned that the music I had been listening to had been greatly affecting my moods and my attitude towards life. The shows that I was watching were adding the negativity that had enveloped my life. The books that I had been reading had influenced me to believe that I was better off reading a book rather than living life. I learned that I had been sucked into a life that I couldn’t recognize and into being a person that I didn’t get along with. Being lonely forced me to realize that I had strayed far off the path that I was meant to be following. I was forced to realize that this isn't who I wanted to be; I had to change.

I learned to embrace the loneliness with every inch of my being. I began to thrive in it, even enjoy it a little. I opened my eyes to the possibilities that loneliness isn’t meant to be sad but is meant to help us get to know ourselves. I accepted myself as I was and learned to make changes in my life so that I could love myself. I am a happier human being because I allowed myself to experience loneliness.

If you are lonely, I encourage you to take a step back from the sadness of it. I encourage you to take a look at the bigger picture and learn from it. I encourage you to thrive in it. I encourage you enjoy this stage in your life; it won’t last forever. Don’t miss a chance to grow because you are too busy being sad. Live life to the fullest, even in the midst of loneliness.

For more of my writing, go check out my blog.

psychology
Like

About the Creator

Abalean Miller

A 20 something year old lifestyle blogger loving life, writing about it And Praising God for all of it!

My Lifestyle Blog: gracefullyabba.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.