Longevity logo

Mr. Brightside

A happy day keeps depression away!

By Logan MillerPublished 7 years ago 5 min read
Like

If you're anything like me, your life takes many twists and turns. You might think everything is fine one day and just absolutely grueling the next! However, if you happen to feel this way, I may be able to offer some information that may be of use to you.

It's called...The Law of Attraction...

No one really knows how to explain it...but to be perfectly honest, it's basically like this...

"If you think good things, good things will come." "If you are constantly thinking positively and towards a goal or motive in mind...you will reach it, to a certain extent."

Now, I know what you're thinking—this CAN'T be possible! However, I am here to tell you today that it very much is. Allow me to explain...

When I was in high school in Richardson, Texas, I played JV baseball my freshman year. It was fun! Except for the fact I didn't get to play very much, due to my grades; other than that, I made many friends and had a great time playing one of the sports I loved! Now, I won't go as far as saying it was my favorite year of my life, because it wasn't. I was having a very hard time with school, finding my 'niche' and just learning the ropes. Here is where things get interesting.

There was a kid...let's just call him Jim. Jim was an asshole...for no reason whatsoever. He had a posse of friends who were much more polite than he was and for some reason, I always wondered why they were around him. Anyways, one day he offers to fight me in front of both the JV and the Varsity baseball teams...it was quite an awkward situation. He went on to continue about how he could kick my ass with one arm behind his back and that he'd give me the first shot.

I (being the somewhat good-hearted kid my parents raised) obviously didn't take the offer. It wasn't worth getting up to three days of suspension, nor would I want that kind of behavior going on with my team if I were a coach. So...I declined...multiple times. I ended up having to get something out of my bag, and he kept moving towards me. I ended up falling over something behind me and everyone started laughing.

Now don't get me wrong. It wasn't this that caused me to get pissy. It was what continued happing the year after this incident.

The next year, my sophomore year, I took a route from the downstairs D hall to the upstairs B hall, which was Social Studies to English, I believe. EVERY DAY...I saw this kid, Jim, and his friends, walk right past me. Some days it was fine and some days it wasn't. Some of those days, Jim would walk past me, and give me the old-fashioned shoulder nudge. You know, the one you see in every single film about a kid getting picked on...At first I just thought it was childish. I laughed it off the first couple of times, but after a couple weeks it started getting to me...

The last day it happened, I was walking to class; he nudged me, and kept on walking and I stopped and turned around. He looked back at me like I was to 'watch out' for something, but I was ready...I am nowhere close to a violent/fighting type, but I was ready to beat him senseless...

That afternoon I went home and the first thing I did was go into the kitchen and grab something to eat. My mom was in the kitchen on a work call and had just hung up. She asked me how my day was. I told her...

"Mom...if you get a call from the principal tomorrow at school, just know that I have sent a kid to the hospital..."

She just sort of stopped what she was doing to talk to me and was so petrified that I would say something like that. I told her about what had been going on and said that I have had enough of his crap and if he nudged me again, he would be beaten senseless.

I had this thought on my mind, that if I could just...NEVER see him again, my life would be so much easier...and then...something happened...

I went to school the next day...and the next week...and the next month...and the rest of the year...and I NEVER saw him ever again. I still haven't to this day. Nowhere on Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Linked In, MySpace (if people still use it). I literally never heard a word about him. It was the strangest thing. I went home and asked my parents if they said anything to anyone at school and they said they hadn't. I swear he didn't die! I would have heard about it, if he did! All I know is... I had an issue for the longest time about this random kid that used to nudge me in the hall, and he just vanished out of thin air.

The Law of Attraction works like this. It also says that if you think about something hard enough and really have the willpower to make a stand to do something, you can change the outcome of your life. It's honestly the most strange thing that has ever happened to me.

Then I thought about this...Why did I let it bother me? Why did I let someone ELSE ruin my day? I was better than that! I should have just shrugged it off and taken the high road, and I let someone else stick me on the lesser road with them...

The Law of Attraction requires you to keep a level head and a positive attitude basically at all times. You attract what you are thinking of and what vibe you give off...If you are constantly pissed off and looking for something from someone, that is exactly what you are going to get! If someone just cut you off in traffic, you can either give them the bird or understand their situation and make the lightest of it...

What I encourage you to do, is to make happiness out of things that don't seem possible...Take any crappy day you have and turn it into something that will make yourself and the others around you shine with joy, peace, and love...The world could use a little more of that these days...Let's show the world our bright side.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.