Longevity logo

Monday Mentality: The Pain of Discipline or Regret?

Stop The Cycle of Starting Over

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Monday Mentality: The Pain of Discipline or Regret?
Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

My biggest tip to break the perpetual cycle of starting over in our wellness routines: DON’T QUIT!

That’s right. It’s that simple.

Don’t quit. Don’t find a reason to excuse or justify. JUST do it!

So another Monday came & you didn’t do that workout you said you would. Or maybe didn’t eat that salad for lunch you were planning on.

So now what? Start next week right? We failed right?

WRONG! Just keep moving forward. & welcome yourself to the club of being human.

Ah, the power within a fresh day. A fresh week. And really just a fresh moment. Because that’s all it takes, is one second & your own self, to pivot...shift the mindset so it works in your favor & adapt as needed, over & over & over.

I don't know what your schedule looks like but maybe you woke up late today & “missed” your workout this morning.

Some will take this as defeat & start next week.

Others will notice it’s 4 pm & they’re going to show up still today anyway.

They’re going to regroup & plan ahead for tomorrow too, to be even better than today. They’ll meal prep their meals & pick out their outfit & maybe even have to sacrifice 30 mins elsewhere to make it happen. But they WILL make it happen.

Because it’s a choice.

Not always an easy one, but one that will set you apart.

We’re training for life here. Not random workouts.

We’re nourishing our bodies for life here. Not restricting for set periods of time.

Rest when you need to.

And then you hop right back in.

No matter what your situation looks like right now just know: the comeback is always greater than the setback.

You made the plan. Now what’s your practice?

Because if you just *don’t quit*, you WILL get there.

Go ahead & try to prove me wrong.

For me, what it comes down to is this...do you choose the pain of discipline or regret? Choose your hard!

Excitement & motivation are your fun friends...but they won’t 𝒂𝒍𝒘𝒂𝒚𝒔 be there.⠀

That’s fine. Accept that now. ⠀

Even if you're doing your life’s passion, you will still feel ᴛɪʀᴇᴅ from it some days, still not want to sʜᴏᴡ ᴜᴘ, still get ʙᴏʀᴇᴅ by it, even ᴅʀᴀɪɴᴇᴅ by it. ⠀

But at that same time, you can still ʟᴏᴠᴇ it. Find ᴍᴇᴀɴɪɴɢ in it. Keep ɢᴏɪɴɢ. Know it’s ᴡᴏʀᴛʜ ɪᴛ. ⠀

We’re into the second month of 2022. In the past I've used my New Years resolution as a means to get started in January, and after a few weeks….I stopped…again. As if thinking when I woke up on Jan 1st of the new year I’d have acquired some newfound Godly motivation. And then the new year comes and...yeah.⠀

Do I want to meal prep all the time? 𝗻𝗼.

Do I always want to exercise when I wake up? 𝗻𝗼.

Do I find a way to make it work anyway because this is important to me? 𝗬𝗲𝘀. ⠀

It doesn’t have to be perfect to make it worth doing. Perfect is the enemy of good. And the thing about good...she 𝒂𝒍𝒘𝒂𝒚𝒔 gets the job done. ⠀

It’s not about having a certain body or “I don’t have your motivation” it’s simply a mindset to practice. ⠀

If you wait for that right time to come when you think your life is going to be all lined up perfectly ready for this new lifestyle/task/job/relationship...you’re probably going to be waiting a very long time. ⠀

Don’t wait another Monday, month, new year. ⠀

Do it now! ⠀

Just do it when you think you can’t & it’s messy. Then tell the epic story of how you did it later. ⠀

For me it is always more painful to look back at the time that has past & wonder where I could’ve been had I just put in the work...⠀

Year after year I’d go into January hating on myself. Well those days are long gone since consistently choosing my health. Consistency < Intensity!

Where will you be at the end of this month? Year? Decade?

No matter your answer, I invite you to jump in now. ⠀

“If we must all suffer from 1 of 2 things in this life...I choose the discipline.”

“Discipline weighs ounces, while regret weighs tons.”

You got this!

lifestyle

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverWritten by NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.