Longevity logo

Monday 12/18/17

Fitness Journey Begins (At Least Writing About It)

By Robert GPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

I'm not sure what is expected when it comes to these posts. While most people seem to give advice on topics, I’m going to use this probably a little differently. I will post my workout from the day, how I performed, and my insights as things progress. I hope this can give insight to some other Crossfit athletes that are trying to be better than average like me. I am nowhere near being a games athlete, but I do consider myself highly competitive.

Workout:

A. Establish heavy single of:

  • 1 Snatch + 1 Overhead Squat + 1 Hang Snatch + 1 Overhead Squat

B. For Time:

  • 50 Double Unders
  • 40 Wallballs @ 20#
  • 30 Toes to Bar
  • 100 Double Unders
  • 30 Wallballs @ 20#
  • 20 Toes to Bar
  • 150 Double Unders
  • 20 Wallballs @ 20#
  • 10 Toes to Bar

C. EMOM 16

  • Odd = 6 Strict Handstand Push-Ups
  • Even = 10 Elevated Ring Rows

D. "Cash Out"

  • 7 L-Sit Rope Climbs (as high as possible until position is lost) (rest as needed)

How I Did:

A) This snatch complex went pretty well for me. I struggle with the catch position because of some mobility issues, which tends to be annoying since I can get the bar easily overhead. In order to help this out, I spend a good 20 minutes prior working on various hop openers and ankle mobility drills. I ended up hitting this complex at 185 pounds. I made 195 for the snatch and overhead squat, but not the hang.

B) This is one of those classic workouts that is all about breathing hard and keeping the foot on the gas pedal. These are my favorite types because I seem to excel at grinding through pain. I did the first two rounds of double Unders unbroken while doing quicker sets the third round since my shoulders were smoked. All of the wallballs were unbroken. I did tens for the toes to bar because I knew this would be where I would die out if I went too big early on. My time was 9:47.

C and D) These were basically accessory work — never the most exciting things to do but necessary. I got all of the strict handstand push-ups unbroken which is the best I’ve ever done.

Insight:

Mondays are long days for me so I was happy with this performance. The snatch is one of my favorite movements and I feel that I performed well. This is a very easy movement to have it be inconsistent. The good news is it tends to be one little detail that needs more focus. Whenever I lift, I try to work with a partner or my coach to get some cues. They may not have the exact fix but it helps me focus.

I don’t often get to do workouts like today during this time of the year so doing one felt great. A lot of the last month and what it will be leading up to March is fixing weaknesses. It can get very boring and mentally tough at times, but I keep telling myself it will be worth it come open time. Also, it makes the fun workouts even better.

I hope that you were able to see what a day looks like for me and use it to motivate yourself to stick with it. Monday was a good day for me, but I promise they’re not all like this. Keep it up!

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Robert G

Special Education Math Teacher

Sailing coach

Crossfit coach and athlete

Dog Dad

Not sure what I’m doing here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.