Longevity logo

Mental Health is REAL.

Stigma of mental health.

By Magdalena🌹Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Battle of our dual demons

So here we are in this vast, continuously changing world - the speed of daily life is incredible and it is extremely difficult to try to keep up. But, what do we have to say about it? That saying "don't complain cause no one will listen." It is very true. Unless of course your family decides they want to lend an ear to you and your none-sense. Everyone is going through their own thing at different levels and trying to make sense of it all just like I am.

Granted, everyone's scenario is different, today's struggle is someone else' accomplishment of yesterday. Society has always had this set of rules and standards that we supposedly have to abide by - perhaps most still like to use that as a catapult to reach their goals and dreams, but me, I can't recall when the day came but I chose to disobey societies rules. I am approaching my mid thirties and I have had a hell of a ride this year so far, let alone a hell of a ride from the day I was born. I am not married, I for one used to be quite against marriage, no surprise there after having gone through very few yet very serious relationships that simply didn't bring me desire to even consider getting married. It's definitely not for everybody.

I am currently battling with the state of my mental health, it is a very real thing and to this day it still something that I feel society does not talk about enough or engage in enough. Take a look at all these shootings and avoidable occurrences that could have been easily avoided. If the people within the mental health system chose to put more time and effort than I am sure the world would be a little different. (which by the way is broken beyond repair and that's just the mental health care system alone) It is something that we unfortunately cannot control and is way beyond our reach. Someone once told me that the system, any system for that matter that encompasses health care, mental well being, extensive therapies, financial aid, etc, is completely shattered and has been designed in a way for us to fail so technically we can never rebuild ourselves. If you ask me, that is CRUEL as all hell.

In any case, so be it, I plan to come out on top in my own time with style and grace and I will not be kept below deck and bound within my thoughts. At the end of the day, I will always seek the glow of the golden sun to shine upon me and that is it's way of telling me it will all be OK. Because, it HAS to be. Learning the ropes of positivity and staying on track is so super difficult, but, it only takes a smidge of a good thought and from that it can only blossom. It is about keeping the discipline, which is SO difficult to maintain on so many levels. But as I tell myself everyday, as long I try everyday and tell myself little things everyday, it means that I am getting a little closer to being on a fully fledged positive road.

It's not easy for most people and I have noticed that SO many people struggle with simple things. Mental health brings each individual down in so many different ways and it takes so much brain power sometimes to just wash the dishes. I have been there where I didn't have enough time in the day let alone the brain power and physical energy to wash dishes that have already been in the sink for 4 days. Others may have difficulty with other simple tasks that are just as simple as washing the dishes and yet, they can't. It doesn't mean we are lazy by any means, it only means that the brain and our bodies are unable to function at the capacity that we hoped for and would like to. It is also called depression, perhaps with some anxiety mixed in there, and that too can become elevated for many reasons.

When the brain has been overloaded due to life, and various personal circumstances, it begins to have a hard time remembering simple things, often getting lost within itself and given that this is when burn out usually occurs, it has to work EXTRA hard to make it through the day. It is no picnic whatsoever. Immediate and plentiful rest is the best remedy to recover. I could tell you all kind of stories..sleeping for 9 to 11 hours in a night and still wanting to continue to sleep. Now that's exhaustion at it's finest. But when you have kids or pets like me (3 pets whom I love to the end of the Earth and without them I'd be very lost) sleeping more isn't an option if you're a single parent especially, cause, kids gotta eat, pets gotta go out (if you have a doggie like me) etc.

I know this post of mine has been hitting all sorts of points within mental health, but it's so so important. Whomever happens to come across my post, I hope you find peace, solace, love and light within it and I most definitely hope that you no longer feel alone, because just like me, we are all fighting the same battle only wearing different disguises and are at different levels. It's not a race, you will reach your destination in due time and what matters most is that you arrive safely.

Let's end the stigma surrounding mental health and lift each other up! Because everyone does better when one empowers another.

Sending you love and light.

mental health
Like

About the Creator

Magdalena🌹

I aim to bring my words across in a free spirited way. I am very expressive and passionate in what I write about. I like to bring forth my true self and thoughts into my writings. I like to jump off the page and right into your soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.