Longevity logo

Meditation Space

Creating a Physical Meditation Space

By Victoria LaPointePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Meditation can be used for many reasons. The ability to step out of our everyday, demanding or stressful or regulated environment allows us to disconnect from the frustration and confusion they can inspire. There are many studies showing the benefits of meditation to relieve stress and improve our physical health as well as our mental clarity. Creativity, empathy and greater spiritual connection are some of the other side benefits of including some form of meditation in our routines. Creating a specially designated space where we have the peace to really relax goes a long way in facilitating the addition of a meditation routine into our busy lives.

Find a place where you’ll be able to relax completely for at least an hour. Your actual meditations don’t need to be that long, in fact there may be times when a quick 3, 5 or 10 minute break will be enough to recenter yourself. What we’re working to set up here is a place where you’ll feel free to relax completely. Ideally this will be a place where your request for space, quiet and time to take a break from daily routines and stresses will be honored. One of the simplest options I’ve found is in the bath, there you can close and/or lock the door for privacy. Your bedroom, living room, out in nature, or a specifically designed meditation space will work just as well as long as you can feel safe and relaxed. Leave the phone somewhere else and let the spouses, children, pets, parents, partners, etc. know that you do not wish to be disturbed. There are a couple of reasons for the request to be left alone.

First, it’s nearly impossible to find a calm, centered place of peace when there are things going on around you and others tugging at your attention. Also, and I think more importantly, is the fact that once the deeper states of meditation are achieved, if you’re jolted back into your body it can cause disorientation, confusion and a pretty brutal headache. If that does happen though, I’ve found that for myself, sugar and/or caffeine pulls me back in rather quickly and lots of water will help dissolve the headache, if there is one.

Once you’ve set up a place to be, make sure you have a way to sit or lie down so that you don’t have to use your muscles to keep yourself still so you can relax. I like to use a thick cushion to sit on with my legs crossed in front of me on the floor so my back is straight and my head sits squarely over my spine. I’ve also done some of my deepest meditations lying on my back (on a mat) with a thin pillow for my head and a thicker one for behind my knees. Lying on a bed works too, though the tendency to fall asleep is there.

In my space I have certain crystals that I resonate with, incense and essential oils for certain occasions, a notebook for writing down my impressions, thoughts, messages and etheric experiences and a pad of blank paper with colored pencils for drawing out things I can’t find the words for. Plus I use white sage for cleansing and tuning forks balancing vibratory energy.

One thing to remember is that there are many, many types and levels of meditation. From a runner’s “high” to the depths of transcendental meditation, to flights of astral travel there are probably as many “right” ways to meditate as there are people to think about them. I think it’s important to find a technique or techniques that works for you and follow them. If you come across the notion or declaration that one type or technique is the “only” proper way to meditate, ask yourself if that’s the type of structure you feel most relaxed and comfortable with. In my opinion if it works for you it's not wrong, do what works.

meditation
Like

About the Creator

Victoria LaPointe

I'm an intuitive Tarot card reader. It's my day job and I love it. My journey began in 1977 when I had my first card reading. I was astounded and inspired so I bought my first deck, began to learn and I'm still astounded and inspired.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.