Longevity logo

Making an Altar

Items used in an Altar.

By Cassie AderoPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I obviously don’t have much room for an altar. I use most of my space in a closet. I keep my witchy stuff in a three space cubicle. Here is what I use, and how I store/display it. This is element based, but you can use it however you like.

::Random Items::

Small Jewelry Box - This can store crystals, herbs, essential oils, etc.

Your Wand - Having your wand on your altar makes it a sacred, special tool. It will be charged by the witchy items you have there, and will feel natural inn the environment. 

A Mini Besom or Real Besom (Broom) - I use a mini besom that was originally an daffodil scented air freshener made out of twigs when I initially purchased it.

Your Grimoire/Spellbook/BOS/etc - If you aren’t hiding it, you could keep it on your altar! 

A  Fire-Safe Dish or Cauldron - If you water scry, burn things, or just like to include your cauldron in your spells, you can keep it on your altar

Incense Tray - Incense can’t be burned without somewhere to place it. Keep your incense holder handy! I like to keep my incense in a box!

• Altar Cloth - This ties everything together! It can be switched out for sabbats/festivals/seasons/spells.

• Chalice - I’m not Wiccan, but I use the chalice in my workings every once in a while, I use a tumbled wine glass.

• Mortar and Pestle - For practical use and an awesome vibe! You can keep this near your herbs.

Spirit Vessels - These can go in their own little corner if you like. They could also be the center of your altar, especially if you work mainly with spirits.  

• Tarot/Other Cartomancy Cards - Find a corner for your cards to be kept safe and clean. They will be charged by the other objects all around it, which makes it an awesome idea to have on your altar.

• Scrying Mirror - Make this the main attraction, or perhaps just a piece of the puzzle. If you have an ornate mirror, it could be a very drawing part of your altar! 

• Crystal Ball - Like the scrying mirror, it could be a background piece or the focal point. 

• Circle ( Hoop) - I know most people use salt to cast circles, but I actually have a friend who custom makes Hula Hoops. I used to use a giant circle rug, not anymore. I use one around myself, and the items I am working with (ex: what’s in the hoop).

• Knife - If you use a ritual or practical knife in your workings, it’s good to have on hand. I have a tiny little butcher knife as my athame.

:: North (Earth) ::

• Small Himalayan Rock Salt Lamp - This is a tool I use all the time. It detoxifies my room, and cleanses the space. I feel so much more at ease with it on, like it’s washing everything away! - Please be very cautious if you have any animals as Himalayan Salt Lamps is toxic to cats!

Crystals - You might want to move these or switch them out depending on what spell you’re doing, as all energy contributes to the working, but while you’re in your space, or even while you’re away, you can leave these here to represent Earth.

Salt - Little packets of salt work, or you can place a bowl with some salt in it on your altar. I use my rock salt lamp. 

Dirt - A literal small jar of dirt works, or you can put a plant on your altar if it’s by a window. I have a succulent!

Earth Imagery - A mini globe would be pretty cool! Having an actual picture of the Earth would be amazing, especially if the clouds were visible, and maybe if it had the sun in the background. Then it could be all encompassing of the elements.

Herbs, Flowers, Plants: As with the crystals, you may want to change these out or put them away during spells, or switch them out. However, they would look really cool as you went with the seasons!

Fossils - I think fossils are awesome Earth representations. They have been in the ground for a very long time! I used to have some really cool fossils I used to represent Earth on my altar.

Tree Slice - Have you ever seen those tiny wooden slices that come from a tree stump? The ones that definitely had huge roots? Those would be perfect to represent Earth! 

:: South (Fire) ::

Wax Melts/Birthday Candles/Tea Lights - You can color code! These are great for short workings, or even to call the elements. To make the birthday candles stand up, place them in a bit of clay and let it harden. 

Matches -  Double whammy here-  light your candles and have a representation!

Ash - Collect ash from incense, a fire, etc, and use it (just wait for it to cool down before handling!!)

• Charcoal - I always thought charcoal looked kinda witchy. I think a dish of it would make a good rep.

• Lamp - If you have a secret altar, a little lamp could be an inconspicuous representation for fire, as it does produce light and heat... I personally love using my small wax melter with a light, plus it smells good.

:: West (Water) ::

• Glass of Water - You can use whatever type of water you’d like; moon water, rose water, purified water, gem elixir; take your pick!  Just make sure it doesn’t get moldy and stay moldy. Change it out each day/week. 

• Sea Shells - You can get these in super small sizes! Or, you can get them big and bulky. 

• Sea Glass - These little stone-like fragments are so pretty! They look just like crystals, and can be found on the beach or in the store!

• Sea Salt -  Sea Salt could work to represent Water, especially if you pour it into a seashell or add in sea glass to it. It could be like a little potpourri of water related objects!

• Sand - If you go to a beach, collect some sand, and place it somewhere on your altar! Be sure to put it in a bowl with a lid, though, because it is tedious to clean up. 

• Coral - If you find some coral, you can place it on your altar. It looks so neat!

• Starfish/Sand Dollars/Shark Teeth- These are a little harder to find on the beach, but if you do, place them on your altar. 

:: East (Air) ::

• Wind Chimes - These add a little decoration to your altar, as well as give you an air representaiton. You can even listen for the tinkling of bells to see if any fae are around

• Bells - If you ring a bell, it disperses stagnant energy, and helps to cleanse a space. Having one on your altar is a great way to keep it fresh!

• Feathers - This is a pretty obvious one, an oldie but a goodie. If you have some feathers, you can use them, but make sure there are no laws against collecting them in your area. Alternatively, you can use fake ones from a craft store. 

• Incense - Another well-known one. You can burn this and use the smoke. 

Cassie Adero | © All Rights Reserved, 2020

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Cassie Adero

You've found me!

Welcome! This is my personal grimoire and my only original content that will ever exist from my beliefs of various cultures.

Thanks for Reading.

Stay Tuned.

XOXO - CAS💕

Cassie Adero | © All Rights Reserved, 2020

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.