Longevity logo

Lunch Time

Relaxing is simple when it is done on purpose.

By Chloe Noelle KingPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Lunch Time
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Whether your lunch is with the co- workers or with the dog, taking a second to breathe and meditate can change your day. It is important to remember that while we aren't in control of everything, we have more control than we give ourselves credit.

My most simple way to relax at lunch is to have cucumbers somewhere on my lunch and just take one and set it on or under my eye.

Thank me later, the coolness of a cucumber on your face may look and sound weird, but nothing feels better. I'll even set it on my third eye chakra, at ReplenishWear we love balancing our chakras and the levelness of laying my head back with such a natural tool that fruit and vegetables are is un-replicable by technology and money. My subway today was $6.46 and I'm 66 points away on the subway app.

Anyways, spending is another topic, the point is that this is not about what you have or how you look it's about how you feel.

This being said, what you put in your body is super important, way more important than textbooks teach. While the transition to eating healthy was difficult, I felt a sustainable diet was worth my attention so I gave it all my attention.

I would have never guessed I'd find so much in terms of how delicate the human body is, and the pure crap we are marketed.

One thing I always say, it is never too late. It is never okay to settle. It is always worth it for yourself and for the better of everything to never give up. Simple changes really do matter, and the world may be one way but we all have an influence on our tomorrow.

I am nowhere near where I need to be on eating sustainably. I am lucky to get one serving of fruits and veggies a day as opposed to five, and I still need to stay clear of preservatives but a bag a baked lays chips hasn't been on my attention to avoid so much as carcinogenic meats.

Again, another topic, the point is to be aware during your lunch meditation that the choice of drink and meal will affect you and deserves more attention than we normally give these choices.

Now that I have had my spinach and lettuce and cucumber on wheat bread (17 year old me would not understand this at all) I actually have extra energy that I am going to put towards a bike ride, it will only be 5 minutes long but it makes the world of a difference if you think big picture.

In addition, I was also outside while I was eating. I do think being out of the buildings as much as possible is crucial to overall well being. We are only human! We have a primal need to be one with the trees and the grass and you can't store a human in a building without negative effects.

Any time that you have to be putting your well being aside for a greater choice, it has to be acknowledged and the best case scenario readjusted for asap.

For example, if my day is taken up by work and courses that are indoors, I take the 15 minutes in between to be outside even if I am in my car and opening my door while working on my laptop.

Finding what works for you is crucial, being indoors for 4 hours does not work for me. That doesn't make me un able to get work done it actually helps me see what Iam working towards and what I actually want and if I am doing what I need to be doing to achieve that.

These are all in the little choices. The choice to sit inside in between two lectures or to go outside because swcrew it I love the sunshine. When you think about what you actually want from life, choices become easier to make.

By Louis Hansel @shotsoflouis on Unsplash

It is clear we all want to be content in life. However, we do not all take steps to happiness. I know I work against myself a lot throughout the day and I have to remind myself to work towards what I actually want.

A great way to stay mindful and check yourself is through this Lunch Time meditation. My cucumber and my bike ride literally take an extra 10 minutes but it means so much to my well being. This looks different for me every day, but regardless of how I practice meditation, noone should compromise giving the time they need to themselves to get very clear on what they want.

self care
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Noelle King

Learn, share, and form healthy habits that work for you. I truly hope my shares gives everyone something they can take away for themselves to enhance their happiness.

Instagram @replenishwearofficial

Facebook @ReplenishWear

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.