Longevity logo

Lily Dale Assembly

A Spiritualist Community

By Marilyn GloverPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Last summer my son and I took a trip to Lily Dale Assembly located in southwestern New York State. About an hour southwest of Buffalo, Lily Dale sits on the east side of Cassadaga Lake in a town called Pomfret. Lily Dale is the largest center in the United States of Spiritualist church organizations. A home to a large population of healers and mediums, Lily Dale attracts people worldwide on their quest for spirituality and new age interests. Unable to make it again this summer due to travel restrictions, I thought I would revisit through my story, sharing a peek of a genuinely intriguing little place.

My photo captures the basic essence of Lily Dale. An immediate sense of peace was felt once entering this gated community. This entire town has beautifully kept grounds and to stroll through on the narrow winding little roads, is to take a trip back in time. In 2016, the National Wildlife Federation (NWF) certified the Lily Dale Assembly as a” NMF community wildlife habitat.” The thriving flora, fauna and trees can be seen firsthand in the lakeside rain garden and the Leolyn Wood’s Nature Trail. Every year on opening day, butterflies are released following rising of the flag. The butterfly release ceremony is a sacred event, as the life cycle of the butterfly serves as an analogy to our own existence. People can reserve a butterfly to release on ceremony day in memory of a loved one by contacting the office of Lily Dale Assembly.

The goal of this trip was to visit the healing temple and the outside message service. My son and I began with the message service which is guided by a group of mediums. The purpose is to deliver messages from deceased loved ones to people in the audience. The idea of communicating with the dead is quite controversial and I accept the fact that not everyone is on board with this. I have always had an open mind, however, and figured that giving it a go would be interesting. Not everyone in the audience receives a message. The mediums go to whoever they feel energy drawing them to. My son who was 19 at the time was one of the last to receive a message. I have to say that there were some speakers that gave more information than others, but my son did receive some helpful information that in retrospect did help us in getting a medical diagnosis for him nearly a year later. This speaker was also able to connect with his grandmother who died 8 years prior. This was quite an emotional experience.

Our other big to do was the healing temple. Inside were people seated waiting for their turn to go up for their session with one of several healers. There is no talking except when your healer whispers to you questions, regarding any health issues or other concerns. One by one people from all walks of life went up for their individual sessions, under 10 minutes. My son and I both felt an immediate sense of unburdening; a weight lifted. Although the sessions were short, the energy received was a powerfully positive boost that our bodies needed. I understand now why this temple attracts a pilgrimage of people from all over the world.

My son and I rounded out our day back in the same scenery as my photo, sitting on one of the benches. Sitting underneath the dome of trees, surrounded by quaint little houses and flowering pastels, was almost surreal. It was truly a bit of heaven on earth. Lily Dale Assembly has a magic of its own. With an estimated 275 year round residents, this small community certainly packs its punch; psychic energy lingers in the air. To think of happy spirits, faeries dancing or a hug from an angel; is to be in Lily Dale. To share my story is to re visit, as I often do when I pull out my trip photos.

spirituality
1

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.