Longevity logo

Life in The Rockies

A walk down memory lane...

By Hazel TaylorPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Growing up and living in the Rocky Mountains as your backdrop anywhere you went in Colorado was my life. People always said that Colorado was one of the best places to go skiing or snowboarding, other times we were the last place people had in mind when they wanted beaches. Funny thing about Colorado was you always saw people in shorts and tanks all year round. Sure, winters get cold but it's not something that could bring a whole state to its knees. I was born in Pueblo, Colorado and the city itself could have Denver fit inside its limits. Outside of Pueblo is Colorado Springs, or anyone living in Colorado it’s just Springs. Kids had school when a foot of snow falls even two feet, we had school. Barely had any kind of snow day unless the buses couldn't run. Denver had the hockey, football, basketball, and baseball stadiums. Although both hockey and basketball shared a stadium, there was always something going. The Pepsi Center was one of those that had several events that were always and are mostly held.

Music in Colorado varied on the person, whether you listen to country or classic rock people would have their windows down and music blasting. A fond memory I will always have with music is, Alice 105.9, a radio station would host a week called 36 hours for kids. They would broadcast at Children's Hospital and tell stories of several kids trying to earn money to donate. My parents have done for many years because Children's had helped me when I was young, well maybe not young, but young enough. I was seventeen when I was officially diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder and it has changed my life. I still have some small problems when it comes to my ASD but it’s not something that I hide anymore. I always try to work it all out on my own and if I can't figure it out, I will ask for help.

I found that going to the Rocky Mountains, well in particularly Estes, has been and always will be my go-to when I just need a fresh take on my life. Growing up my family and I would go there at least two or three times every year. Driving with the windows down and smelling the fresh air was a way for my senses to recharge and find themselves again. Going to the top of a thirteener or a fourteener was an amazing view and a wonderful feeling. Sure, it was chilly if you didn't pack a light jacket, but it was beautiful being on top of the mountains. Estes was and still is my favorite place to go. I loved it all and I miss it very much and cannot wait until I can visit again.

Colorado is one of those places you just have to experience it for yourself to see the beauty and understand the people. We aren't as crazy as you think, well maybe a little but that's ok. Without a little crazy there is nothing to do and no fun memories are made. I can at least say this, my home is and will always be the one place I will forever hold in my heart and in my life. I love it all and wouldn't change it for the world. If anyone who does decide to go make sure you don't forget a few pants. a few long sleeves, and at least one light jacket; because those who live in Colorado know; Don't like the weather, wait five minutes it will change.

We have crazy weather patterns that most people never think is possible and it always changes when people least expect it, or most that is. Coloradoans know when mother nature feels like giving Colorado a field day on weather, so most of the times everyone just takes it goes about their day. It is always fun trying to watch news stations guess on our weather though. Meteorologists get semi close when figuring out weather for the next 10 days but before those days are up it changes again the next hour. Not their fault of course, but it makes the job a tiny bit more difficult.

My home is Colorado and my life is all around the Rockies, without them my life would definitely be different.

lifestyle
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.