Longevity logo

Lemon water to the rescue

Benefits of drinking lemon water

By Vika FirsovaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Gotta love them lemons <3

This is another one of my experiments on myself to see what benefits I can get from drinking this, so loudly talked about, lemon water . Of course I have been reading up on what benefits lemon water can bring, but I decided to test it all on myself and then see what REAL benefits lemon water can actually deliver to me personally. So here it goes.

About 3 weeks ago, I started drinking lemon water. No difficult recipes - just put few slices of lemon into a glass of slightly heated up filtered water and voila! It is ready to be consumed.

1. Hydration

After 1 week of consuming lemon water, I started noticing that I am drinking less and less of just plain water and also less of any other beverages, including tea, even though tea is my favorite thing in the whole world. What is happening to me you might ask? Yeah, I am getting hydrated really well from lemon water, so thirst is literally non existent. By consuming around 1-1.5 l lemon water a day, I can completely forget about being thirsty.

2. Vitamin boost

There is a huge amount of different vitamins in lemon water, including large amounts of vitamin C - 90%, B complex vitamins including - B6, B,1 and B3, vitamins E and A.

3. Clear skin

I have started noticing that my skin is getting clearer - less breakouts on my face, skin is brighter and is glowing, little eczema breakouts I usually have on my upper arms, are also starting to clear up. When I wake up in the mornings, my pores are much smaller on my face and overall appearance and quality of my skin is much better. My skin on my whole body feels less dry - usually I would need to moisturize my whole body after I take a shower, but after I started drinking more lemon water, this feeling of dry skin is nearly gone. Don't get me wrong, I still use moisturizer, but I have noticed that I do it less and less.

Also would like to give you a little warning! In the first couple of days after starting to drink lemon water, you might have more breakouts on your face than usual. This happens as a result of lemon water clearing and detoxifying your gut and breakouts will happen, as this is the way your body can quickly and safely get rid of the toxins from your gut and your body. The body is also getting rid of the toxins through sweat, urine and excrements, but the quickest way is for the body to do it through the skin. After initial first couple of days your skin will clear up.

4.Detoxifying and clearing up your gut

As I mentioned in the previous point, lemon water aids to cleaning and detoxifying your gut and your whole digestive system. It happens due to the reactions that happen once lemon water enters your digestive system. Lemon itself is acidic, but after entering our digestive systems, there are certain chemical reactions that happen as lemon interacts with the acid in our stomach (stomach juice) and other reactions. As a result, lemon water (or just pure lemon juice) becomes alkaline - meaning that it has pH level of 7.5 and up. And I will let you in on a little secret - alkaline is good for our bodies. There are very few illnesses and diseases that can grow and progress in an alkaline body.

5. Suppressed feeling of hunger

First thing I would like to mention here is that I was not trying to lose any weight when I started this experiment. I do however practice intermittent fasting - where I eat 9 hours and fast for 15 hours in the 24-hour period (sometimes these intervals change to 8 and 17 or 10 and 14). And sometimes, in the last 1-2 hours of the fasting time, hunger strikes out of nowhere, but I feel like I still want to fast for a while and this is where lemon water comes in handy. After drinking a glass of lemon water (or two :) ), the unbearable feeling of hunger and all the tummy noises disappear, and I can carry on with the fasting regime.

I would like to add to this point that I do not believe in periodic dieting as a healthy and permanent way of losing weight, but I can admit than lemon water does help, if you are dieting, to suppress feeling of hunger and make sure you stay on track with your diet.

6.Improved joint health

Since I can remember myself, my joints are always been snapping and popping - it's that clicking noise you hear every time you take a step or crouch down to pick something up. After drinking lemon water just for one week, I noticed that my joints are making those clicking noises lesser than before. Those squats are feeling much smoother and those steps up the staircase are much quieter. This interested me a lot, because I have not read about this result in any other papers, when read about benefits of lemon water. Then after doing a little research, I understood why this happened. Lemon water, as mentioned before, is very hydrating - that includes hydrating joints - particularly joint capsules, where synovial membrane secretes a clear, sticky fluid (synovial fluid) around the joint to lubricate it. This sticky, clear fluid contains water. Imagine if it doesn't get enough water, of course, it will dry up. So, returning to drinking lemon water, by consuming lemon water and hydrating our bodies, including our joints, we are making sure are joints are lubricated and work better. Also lemon water contains not only a lot of vitamins, but also minerals, including potassium, calcium, phosphorus, magnesium and many others. So, the hydration of the joints and all the vitamins and minerals previously mentioned combined, makes our joints more lubricated and healthier, and the dreaded clicking noises start to disappear, as the joints start functioning properly.

These are the 6 benefits I found after I frequently started drinking lemon water. I am planning on continuing drinking lemon water every day and if any new results will come up, I will make sure I update this post or write a completely new one.

I hope this post was beneficial for you and inspired you to to pick up a habit of drinking lemon water every day.

Stay beautiful and healthy.

organic
Like

About the Creator

Vika Firsova

I am passionate about health and well-being. I also love to motivate and inspire others. I love to share personal experience in everything I do, to be helpful to you on your life journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.