Longevity logo

Just strong: Empowering women everywhere

Not just clothing, a lifestyle

By Anastasia SPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
Just strong: Empowering women everywhere
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

Fitness. A word many women can run away from. One year ago, I reached my highest weight, was very unhappy with myself and wanted a change without making an effort. Like everyone else in lockdown, you work or study and then spend the rest of your free time on social media. I miss the social media platforms five to ten years ago when the notion of an ad or sponsored product was relatively new on these networking sites.

I started wrapping my head around breaking out of my routine and getting back into fitness, being healthy again, and already dreading the mental and physical work that I needed to put myself through.

By Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

But there I was, scrolling through my Instagram feed after following a lot, and I mean a lot of fitness and health accounts. And soon enough, maybe after two weeks or so, the active lifestyle and gym clothes ads started coming in. It was just brand after brand trying to sell me their latest sports bra or a yoga mat, and trust me, I wasn't ready for that level of commitment.

A surprising ad on Instagram

But one day, an ad on Instagram surprised me. It was a video from the Just Strong clothing brand, but it focused more on women empowering women than the clothing itself, which blew my mind. It was the first brand I saw through an ad that was sending a different message. While intrigued, I was still sceptical.

So excited, I clicked the link and went straight to the "About" section. Here I am welcomed with a video. So, of course, I played it. And now you can see the brand logo and their clothing every five seconds or so. But you also see the diversity of women, the various sports or activities accompanied by an excellent beat. The only words are at the end:

"Not just strong for a girl." - Just Strong

I was fascinated as I didn't see the words you generally see with other brands like healthy, body or weight loss.

So what is the Just Strong brand?

It is a brand that focuses on the community of women empowering each other. Whether they are an experienced lifter, a gym addict, or a complete beginner, it is all about staying focused and never giving up on your journey. They sell activewear and accessories as well as having an ambassador program. I had a quick look at ambassadors expecting to see big influencer names, but boy, was I in for a shock. Their ambassadors are women like me and you, that enjoy the clothes and the brand focus. Wow! Amazing surprise that made me think positively even more.

And I was sold. The brand vision resonated with my values, so I had to get involved. I had to buy something and try it out and see if it is worth the hype. Many brands promote the community aspect they bring and are trying to create, but we know that is not always the case. So this was also something I wanted to see if they live up to this standard too.

My crop top in a wine red colour in a size L

What did I get?

For my purchase, I got a few pieces: a pair of leggings, a sports bra, a crop top and a T-shirt. I loved it that, when I opened the box, my order came with a cute Thank you message. I tried them on, and they are lovely quality. They have some really cute designs too, so they are approved from my perspective.

Wearing the clothes reminded me of the brand's vision, and seeing the support in the Facebook Group helped me start my fitness journey. It reminded me that it wouldn't be easy, but I can count on the support of other women going through what I am going: striving to be stronger for me and helping rekindle my passion for fitness. Looking back now, I think it is intelligent branding because being strong can mean different things to everyone, and that is okay.

It might have started as an ad and an impulse to get the clothes and join this community, but it changed my mindset towards my health.

Price and discount codes

They are reasonably priced compared to the other athletic brands but look for discount codes. I mentioned that they have ambassadors, so all I had to do was jump on their social media and soon discovered their #JustStrongAmbassador. If you open a few accounts, you can find discounts codes to get you 10% off.

By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

The community

The brand has a strong community between women both on Facebook and on Instagram. I have joined the Facebook Group Just Strong Team, which I have linked below, and I was amazed. New ambassadors introduce themselves, everyone in the group shares their journey, interacts with advice or helpful tips, and is overall such a positive community. On Instagram, they do have their account, but what I discovered is that if you follow the two # below, you will notice a different type of interaction. Everyone interacts with everyone and welcomes them through comments and likes.

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/juststrongteam

Instagram: use #JustStrong #JustStrongAmbassador

Image by Alexandra ❤️A life without animals is not worth living❤️ from Pixabay

Would I buy again from the brand?

Whoops. I already did. A month after being part of the Facebook group and trying their clothes in workouts, I have been buying more items and have been recommending it to my friends and family.

And all of this I got from an Ad and adding some clothes to the basket!

Don't miss out on them!

Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoyed this story! I would appreciate it if you leave a heart or any tip is more than welcomed.

You can also check out any of my other articles HERE!

product review
6

About the Creator

Anastasia S

I always loved writing, but I never got the courage to start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.