Longevity logo

Journal Entry 1: A little about me

Welcome to the inside of my mind.

By Hannah MiddaughPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I guess I should start this out by introducing myself.

My name is Hannah Middaugh. My pronouns are she/her. I'm a 24 year old senior at a liberal arts college in Pennsylvania called Wilson College. I'm a Writing and Journalism major with a double minor in Communications and English. I have been the Editor-In-Chief and Graphic Designer for the college newspaper, The Wilson Billboard, for three years. I have started a photography business on the side. I have gotten to photography concerts, music festivals, AHL (American Hockey League) games, maternity photos, engagement photos, and portraits for school.

I am a big fan of music (mostly in the pop-punk/rock genre), ice hockey (Go Blue Jackets!), and coffee (of any kind). I am the caretaker of a Pomeranian/Mini Doberman named Maximum Ride (yes, named after a James Patterson book character), and two chinchillas named Apollo and Rocky. I am a collector of buttons, Funko Pops!, candles, and magnets. I love being organized (or at least feeling organized). Traveling is one of my favorite things to do in my spare time, along with going to concerts and music festivals.

I have decided to treat this as a journal; write about what's on my mind, what happened during the day, about mental health.

As someone who suffers from depression, anxiety, insomnia, and migraines, I understand that there are a lot of people out there who don't know how to take care of their own mental health. I want to be able to be supportive to people without knowing them or having to speak to them. I want to try to be as open and honest about my own mental health so that others know that it is okay to not be okay and that they're not alone. I'm a big believer in talking openly about mental health and being an advocate for someone. I know I struggle a lot, but there are good days and I know that there are more good days coming. I want others to know that, too.

But I also just want to tell stories about my animals, about my friends, about my boyfriend, about my family, about my life at Wilson College now that its coming to an end. I'm hoping that people find my stories entertaining or just interesting to read.

Maybe I'll write about meeting some of my favorite celebrities and those experiences, or photographing an AHL hockey game. Or maybe even write about how my boyfriend and I started going on dates without me even realizing they were dates (Hahahaha).

It's been an interesting time so far this year and not having my usual outlets in life to help me with processing things sure hasn't helped me a whole lot. I've been struggling with motivation which in itself is not a good thing since I'm finishing up my senior year of college. I should be working my butt off on finishing up assignments and focusing on job searching for after graduation. I should be doing so much more than the bare minimum on things.

But I'm not and that truly upsets me. I know why I'm not focusing and what I can do to fix it, but without money or a car, its not happening as much as I would like it to.

So here's to hoping that maybe this will help me get back to slightly normal. Writing is an escape for me, but unfortunately I haven't been able to write much this semester.

I'm hoping I'll get better at this as I go. I haven't been writing a whole lot this semester and I'm a bit out of practice.

Until next time,

Hannah

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Middaugh

I am finishing up my senior year at Wilson College in Chambersburg, PA. I am a Writing and Journalism major with a double minor in Communications and English. I will be writing articles and short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.