Longevity logo

It's Okay to Not Know

Because no one really knows anyway

By Madeline KeysPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

A lot of times, an obsession with knowing what the future holds is really just a fear of being judged or seen as somehow less than others. But more often than not, people don't in fact know what they want their future to look like or how they will get there. Sometimes we compare ourselves to people who seem to have their lives together and know exactly what they're striving for. The truth is no one really knows what the future holds, and that's okay.

Here's why it's okay to not know yet:

I used to think that knowing exactly what I wanted came with age. I thought I would reach a certain age and level of maturity in which I would finally know exactly what I wanted for my life. Lies. One thing I have learned is that no one really knows. Any matter of life plans don't always turn out just right. The older I get the more I know that we all don't know.

Once I realized that we really all don't know for certain, I could no longer compare myself to others. There is no reason to envy that person who seems to have an answer to all the questions. They may know what school they want to go to, what they want to study, the place they want to live, how many kids they want to have, and so on. But you can be genuinely happy for them, just like you should be happy for yourself. Your life is an adventure and you have yet to find out where life will take you.

Don't worry what will happen 5 years from now...or 5 days from now. The truth is in 5 years from now your opinion would have probably changed and you wouldn't have needed to worry about that thing anyways. If you spend so much of your life worrying, you won't be able to enjoy the right now. There are so many things to be grateful for that you don't want to miss. And with not knowing what your plans are, you may actually have less to worry about then the person who seems to know. Before you have "settled down," it's a great time to learn about yourself and get some culture through travel and trying new things.

A big reason people make life plans is because we all need money. Of course we all need money, but the problem comes when we prioritize it. When we prioritize money we miss the value of life that comes from the things that don't cost money. We miss the moments with people who we love, we miss soaking up places that will have an impact on our lives, and we miss the simple joy of being alive. Some people work hard their whole life, have all the money in the world, and still have no one that truly cares about them.

To conclude, it's very okay to not know. And when you do think you know and start going in that direction, it's okay to make a few mistakes. Teach yourself to be content with the life you've been given right now. Appreciate all the little moments, because it's the little moments like these that make up your own unique life.

I appreciate you taking time to read this. If you liked what you read please take a moment to like and share with friends and family. Also be sure to check out my profile to see more topics I've written on and if you're feeling generous my tips are always open. Thank you!

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Madeline Keys

I'm just a writer trying to find her voice. I'm passionate about writing things I'm learning about and things I've experienced.

I hope you enjoy exploring my page!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.