Longevity logo

It's Not too Late for a Senior Startup

You've got lots of beans to spill and no better time than now to start

By Lynda CokerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
It's Not too Late for a Senior Startup
Photo by Andreea Popa on Unsplash

"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Question: What exactly is a ‘startup’?

Startups are most often seen as new companies founded to develop a unique product or service, bring it to market and make it irresistible and irreplaceable for customers.

I think that fits all of us over the age of 50. We’re not exactly new but young at heart and eager to develop unique aspects of our lives. For some of us, this is the dream of being a professional writer who brings to the page irresistible and irreplaceable content to entertain and enlighten our readers.

Question: What do I know about Senior Startups?

The fact that I will turn 75 this month, coupled with the fact that I didn’t start working on my dream of writing until the age of 50, should qualify me as an expert/in training.

What was I doing during that 24-year span?

Nothing too serious. Just dreaming, doodling, meditating, fiddling, and on especially good days, writing in spurts.

Where to begin

With no formal education in the art of writing (I just sat my bottom in the chair and started doing it by the seat-of-my-pants), and if you can relate, I wore out a few pairs of pants that way.

But little by little, I began to build a small pile of confidence and kept going. Some days I’d play on the top of that pile, and other days, I’d lay at the bottom and moan pitifully.

“The greatest amount of wasted time is the time not getting started.” - Dawson Trotman

Pros and Cons

My advancing age contributed the most to my lack of confidence. I just knew other people would think I was crazy to jump into something so bizarre as becoming a professional writer in my approaching dementia years. The only upside to that was, if I failed, I probably wouldn’t remember.

But there were so many factors in my favor I couldn’t ignore it. I started focusing on assets instead of deficits and found I had all the bare necessities.

Bare Necessities

Time — lots and lots of time on my hands. I could write at leisure.

A moderate retirement income freed me from having to work.

Children were raised and successfully removed from the nest.

I was not having to raise my grandchildren like so many of my friends were doing.

My spouse was very supportive — puzzled at times, but supportive. He even created a writing corner for me in the living room to be near him. And most importantly, he promised never to talk to me when I was deep into another dimension. It doesn’t get any better than that!

Health problems were not debilitating.

Decades of experiencing life lessons provided a reservoir of ideas.

I still had a sense of humor.

I’d learned not to take myself too seriously — no stress, no anxiety, no depression.

My husband gifted me a shiny new Macbook Pro!

So, how could I not write?

"Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll land among the stars." - Les Brown

Having considered all things, what is my conclusion

Do you remember the first quote at the top of this article?

"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

What kind of a trail are you leaving behind?

Age has never been or will ever be a valid reason for giving up on my dreams.

Age doesn’t determine my ability to use what I have at the time.

Age doesn’t limit my right to pursue a dream.

Age doesn’t limit my desire to move ahead.

“None are so old as those who have outlived enthusiasm.” – Henry David Thoreau

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

Lynda Coker

Grab a chair, turn a page, and read a while with me. I promise to tap lightly on my keyboard so we both can stay immersed in our world of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.