Longevity logo

"It's Just A Perfect Day"

"I'm glad I spent it with you."

By Angela LuttonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I keep thinking back to that song by Lou Reid "Perfect Day". And all the lovely things I do with my husband on a daily basis. Not "every" day is perfect, but a majority are definitely note worthy. We spend time together; real time. I think that is what is missing in this fast paced world. Time spent together where it means something. REAL time. Talking, reading, listening to music, or just being in the same place with the person or people you love.

I think the take away from the pandemic is that we all need to feel a connection with the people that we love. The bonds that bind us together have become looser and more fragile in the age of computers. Right now computers are making it easier for us to work from home. However, it's the connections that you form with people in person that are formative in nature.

Hugs are much more important more now than ever. And yes, I still hug my husband even in the pandemic. The hugs last longer, mean more, are more comforting, and in general feel really good. Hug your significant other today. Right now. It will make you feel better. Touch is the number one thing that we are all loosing right now that we didn't know that we would miss the most about this pandemic. The ability to feel a connection with another human being is beyond anything that money, or a computer or anything that you do could give you.

The art of simply being with the person you love is more powerful than anything you could ever do. My perfect days are the days that we simply exist with one another. Just being in the same space and time is wonderful. Knowing that your loved one is with you and that they care deeply about you is perfect.

Bill and I read books together, hang out together, go for walks together, listen to music together, and simply every other together imaginable. We have the art of the domestic date night perfected. It's not what you do with your significant other, it's how you feel about what you are doing with your significant other. If you wish you could do it by yourself, then you missed the connection that binds you together.

Everyone right now is shut in their houses and finds this very insulting to their rights and what not. Bill and I are home bodies so I haven't really notice much difference. Although, we don't go out to eat at all we used to eat out at least one night a week. We love just hanging out in our "space" being with one another. I think we as a society have forgotten how to do that. Just spending time with someone in the place where you live or cohabitate is more than what most people do.

What the pandemic did is it force us to spend time with one another in ways that were just not available to us just a few months ago. We run from one appointment to the other, run from here to there, have classes to do, go to the gym, etc. We forget that our "time" on this planet is very short and that the most important things are our connections to the people that we love. In light of the pandemic, some of our loved ones are not going to be here anymore do that with. The time for connection is now.

Listen to Lou Reid's song "A Perfect Day" and say to the one you love and say "It's just a perfect day, I'm glad I spent it with you" and really mean it. You never know what tomorrow will bring. You don't have to go anywhere to get the perfect day or the perfect anything if you are with the one you love! Say thank you to the pandemic for slowing us down and showing us that what is important is our bonds and connections. When I am with my husband I am home.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Angela Lutton

My name is Angie, I live in Massachusetts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.