Longevity logo

It Could Also Happen to You

Just about anybody and everybody

By JULIE GUERREROPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was summertime. Sun was so hot and humid and for some reason we thought it would be a great day walking up the steep hill with sandwiches and water jug in the bag. Who knew after everything I have gone through I have forgotten how to breathe! Silly to think about it now but the deep big breaths after 5 minutes of walking was no joke.

All my life I had never experienced this type of heaviness and this was including the time when I was pregnant, TWICE. And now, I have never felt so hoarse and out of breath in my life. How did I let it get this way? He wouldn't let me stop in the middle and quit. We got to the top for just a few minutes and just as it is in life, we had to come back down to where reality was. That night I saw the commercial that featured "There should be more people like Carmen Bravo in this world...the man behind her dropped while they were in a marathon...he was having a heart attack." And this got me thinking. Back when I worked at the hospital. Patient with a regular build, in his 30s who just got married with his new wife came in the hospital. He was an emergency admit whom we have not had any file on. I finished admitting him and got him settled in his room. He ate dinner, brushed his teeth, went to the bathroom and then all of a sudden plopped on the bed. He wasn't breathing anymore. It was so sudden. We couldn't revive him and He was already in the hospital! His wife and his mother were shocked at what had just happened. Nowadays, just because you are young doesn't mean you cannot get a heart attack or a stroke and once that happens, your life is forever changed or that you are forever dead.

Fast forward to now. I have ventured into what courses of action could one take to protect their loved ones and themselves in the event of this happening. In my case, I have worked all my life, little to no savings and I don't own anything yet that I don't owe to anyone to. Here was what I found out that is decent and economical:

1. Cancer, Heart Attack/Stroke, Hospital Indemnity and ICU Policy - If you have never had it yet and you're between ages 18-64, get it! You can adjust how much you get lump-sum (as much as $100,000) if you ever end up having it. If you don't get to use it in the end, all the premiums paid is given back to you. And it is paid directly to you. No restrictions on how you spend it.

2. Index Universal Life Insurance - This is when Whole life and Term life combine and created a beautiful baby. Let me explain. This lasts until age 120 and it covers just like a Term (big amounts) without the overpriced premium of Whole life AND it has cash value that can make more than your CD (no locked-in time) or Savings account (close to no interest). Depending on the policy, it can also be used for Chronic and/or Critical, and Terminal Illness (some insurance companies let you use 50-80% of the death benefit while you're still alive). You can also set it up in a way that it helps fund your retirement income for life while still having the death benefit covered.

In my situation, I wanted $20,000 for either Cancer, Heart Attack/Stroke, Hospital/ICU is $1,000. It is renewable for the rest of my life. Pays out maximum 4 times in a year. I have IUL 300,000 with the 80% available for Chronic, Critical and Terminal Illness. A separate $100,000 policy that is increasing every year that I pay for until age 65. At age 66, I can take out $20,000/year for the rest of my life without paying it back, Tax-Free! I made sure I am covered while I am alive and when I die. Aside from this, the options are endless when it comes to retirement. I can use my cash value to fund a Fixed Index Annuity that I can receive income on for the rest of my life and it will still give my beneficiaries my death benefit also Tax-Free.

How can I customize your plan to you? Let me show you the possibilities by clicking here.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

JULIE GUERRERO

Grew up in a middle income family, open-minded and have a great sense of humor. I make myself laugh most of the time, unintentionally. =)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.