Longevity logo

Is Vaping Healthier Than Smoking?

I'm here to answer your lifelong question!

By Jessica ShoemakePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Since vaping became popular, everyone has asked; is it healthier than smoking cigarettes? Everyone has had their doubts. I used to think that vaping was dumb (as I was smoking a pack and a half a day). Then, I did my research and oh my, was it surprising. The initial safety of the mod was the biggest concern. Don't worry folks, it won't blow up on you! As long as you're using a regulated mod and follow battery safety guidelines, you'll be fine. Regulated mods have safety features on them so let's say it gets too hot, it'll either shut down or give you a warning. If something is wrong, it'll let you know so it doesn't blow up! Unregulated mods however do not have any safety features, so unless you know what you're doing I wouldn't suggest owning one. The other huge question was; "what's exactly in vape juice?" Vape juice has 3\4 ingredients.

1. Propylene Glycol (PG) and/or Vegetable Glycerin (VG)

You probably ingest these two things daily without even realizing it. Seriously, go look in your pantry. You can buy these two things at the grocery store if you wanted to and the FDA says it's COMPLETELY SAFE!

2. Food Flavoring

Again, you ingest this daily and can find it at any grocery store. Completely safe to use and ingest daily.

3. Nicotine

Now, this may not apply if you're using a nicotine free e-liquid. But, if you are it's totally safe to consume. Just make sure you get a nicotine strength you like and not something too high. Then, you won't enjoy it as much unless you like a little buzz.

Despite what big tobacco says, e-liquid DOES NOT contain harmful chemicals like antifreeze for example. These 3/4 ingredients are the only things you'll find in any e-liquid you get from a reputable company. Now, let's take a look at cigarettes. Cigarettes have been around for a very long time and at one point, the doctor even prescribed them to you! Looking back now, what were they thinking? Of course, back then they were only tobacco. Now, a single cigarette contains UP TO 4,000 chemicals! Some, we don't even know about. We only know of the 4,000.

Does vaping cause cancer?

No, but let me elaborate. Tobacco and nicotine in itself do not cause cancer. The reason people get cancer from smoking is because of all the chemicals in the cigarettes. You're putting well over 4,000 harmful chemicals in your body with every cigarette you smoke. That's also the reason why you start feeling worse and worse the longer you smoke. Your body can't handle all these unknown chemicals entering your body. However, the ingredients in e-liquid are already known to your body so they process them easier. Research shows that vaping by itself has never caused cancer.

Still not convinced? I'll tell you my personal story.

Since I was 18 I smoked a pack and a half a day. I always felt horrible, smelled horrible, and my taste buds always tasted like smoke. My boyfriend is very into vaping and I had a few little vape pens in the past but never had nicotine. So, he got me a mod and told me to try it. I replaced my cigarettes with vaping and after only a week I felt better. I had energy, I was motivated, I smelled better. It was like something I never experienced before. I haven't touched a cigarette in almost 10 months and let me tell you, after a few days of steadily vaping I was coughing up black tar. I could walk more than 10 feet without wheezing and being out of breath. It was a wonderful feeling! Cigarettes are nothing but poison and you owe it to yourself to switch to the healthier alternative. Vaping has helped millions quit smoking, will you be the next?

health
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Shoemake

Writing has always been my passion and I'm here to prove to some people that you can turn this into a career! I love animals, poetry,short stories,articles, and funny blogs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.