Longevity logo

Improving Your Sleep Routine

Use these tips in order to get a better nights sleep every night.

By Katie YvonnePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Improving Your Sleep Routine
Photo by Logan Nolin on Unsplash

Many of us may struggle with getting a good nights sleep. Especially during this strange, new time that we are all experiencing right now. I know that my own sleeping pattern has been pretty much ruined since lock-down started. Within this post, I wanted to give you some tips on how you can start establishing a better sleeping routine starting today!

set the mood.

Setting the vibe an hour or two before actually going to bed is one of the most effective ways in which you can get a better nights sleep. This routine usually involves me limiting my time on technology, getting into my pyjamas, putting my diffuser on and so on.

These little things help my mind and body settle down properly before getting into bed and getting ready to sleep. Everyone's routine will be different depending on how you personally wind down before you go to sleep.

Some activities I would recommend to help you relax before bed are:

  • Get into some comfortable clothes.
  • Put your technology away for the night.
  • Have a quick tidy up.
  • Read a book.
  • Do your skin-care routine.
  • Journal about your day.
  • Listen to a relaxing podcast.
  • Do a spiritual practise inline with your beliefs - pray, meditate etc.

empty your brain.

Half of my issue when I'm trying to fall asleep is that my brain feels like it just won't shut off. I know that many people will relate to me with this one. Even if I'm tired before I get into bed, as soon as my head hits the pillow my mind feels suddenly awake. Much to my dismay, this is also the time that my brains thinks is appropriate to bring up things that happened 10 years ago that I cringe over.

One of the most invaluable things that I have started doing is emptying my brain before bed. The most common way I do this is by journalling. Before getting into bed, I like to have a cup of tea and write in my journal all about my day. Simply writing about my day for five-ten minutes can help empty my brain before bed.

Other effective ways of emptying your brain before bed are:

  • Doing a brain-dump.
  • Talking to your partner or family members about your day.
  • Meditating in order to clear your mind.
  • Try some journalling prompts.

explore your senses.

Our senses are what guide us through our day and they can also be super helpful with guiding us to sleep too. Senses are a massive part of sleep. For many of us, the atmosphere has to be just right before going to sleep. Personally, I am really light sensitive at night so a dark room and an eye mask is vital for me.

You are likely very aware of the atmosphere that you like before going to sleep so try and work with that! There are many ways that you can use your senses in order to get a better nights sleep. I've found that one of the best things to do is just experiment with things and see what works for you.

A few ways to explore you senses are:

  • See if different smells help you sleep such as chamomile or lavender.
  • Play around with light, figure out what you like.
  • Discover whether or not you sleep better when you're warmer or cooler.

When I wake up, I am reborn - Mahatma Gandhi.

I hope that this post can help you get some more sleep!

All the best, K x

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.