Longevity logo

I Tried the Yaasa ONE Sleep System and It Improved My Overall Health. Here's How...

Yaasa's claim to fame is better sleep and better health, but how well does this mattress really work?

By Sasha KonikovoPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

A wise man once said that you should always spend a little extra on anything that goes underneath you—tires, shoes, and, of course, the mattresses you lie on every night when you sleep. He was right, and it was only recently that I noticed how right he was.

For the past 20 years of my life, I had been sleeping on the same mattress. It was a mattress my parents bought when I was eight and somehow, I thought this was okay. Eventually, a coil busted through the mattress cover and the bed had started to sink.

Weirdly, I got attached to my mattress, with all its quirks and lumps. I didn't want to get rid of it! Whether I liked it or not though, I had to buy a new mattress. Eventually, I searched online and found Yaasa—a mattress that made a huge difference to me.

I tried to go to a local mattress store, but that proved to be fruitless.

After getting harangued by shady mattress salesman and having Serta shoved down my throat, I stopped being comfortable with actually going to a live store. It was kind of a nightmare trying to talk to salesmen, and they kept wanting my signature before I even felt comfortable looking at all the mattress features.

At one point in my shopping experience, a salesman tried to block me from leaving the store. My husband pushed through him, and that was the end of dinky local mattress shops for us.

I'm not going to lie, I was a wee bit traumatized by the sales tactics. So, we decided to go online. That's how we found Yaasa.

We actually found Yaasa through a sleep review that we saw on an online forum. The user claimed that he had Yaasa custom made to his specifications, and that it was great.

He said that they delivered the mattress to him, no salesmen required. He also mentioned that he chose to use the mattress because they had a 100-day money back guarantee, so if he hated it, he could return it.

Curious, we took a look on the site to check it out.

Everything the guy said was, in fact, true. Yaasa does allow you to tailor your bed to your specific sleep style. It really does come with a 100-day sleep trial period where you can choose to ask for a refund. Yaasa could also be ordered online if you were really serious about it.

Though the buying experience was tempting, looking at the mattress was what made us decide to take the leap of faith.

We started to look at Yaasa's site to find out more. What we found was that Yaasa is a very unusual type of mattress called a hybrid mattress. Most mattresses are either spring mattress or foam mattresses.

Spring mattresses have metal coils, much like what my bed had. I like the firmness of these mattresses. However, the coils can poke through, move out of place, or just make sleeping somewhat uncomfortable.

Foam mattresses won't have as much bounce as spring mattresses, and will allow you to sink into your bed. Unfortunately, they tend to lose shape, and can also be way too warm for some peoples' liking.

A hybrid mattress has both, giving it the firmness that you need, the softness you want, and a lot longer staying power than either alone. It just seemed like a more advanced way to sleep.

My husband is one of those guys who can't stand to stay warm while sleeping.

I can't blame him, either. That's why he didn't really want a foam mattress. Both Yaasa's soft and firm mattresses came with at least an inch of cooling foam, which helps keep your body cool (but not cold) during hot summer nights.

Overall, it looked like Yaasa had found a way to offer up a little layer of comfort for just about every issue you could have with a mattress. That gave us a good reason to try it out.

We ordered a Yaasa mattress, and it was promptly shipped over.

We were able to get the Yaasa placed on our bed in no time, thanks to the delivery guys. There weren't any shipping fees, and the overall delivery experience was great.

The night we got the mattress, we laid out new sheets and took a look at our bed. Somehow, the mattress just made it feel as if the bed itself was new. We couldn't wait to try it out!

That night was the best sleep I've ever gotten.

Growing up, I honestly believed that I inherited my dad's sleeping problems. I thought that tossing and turning for about an hour was normal. It was always a "just get used to it" part of my life that I actually had to plan out.

The next day, both my husband and I woke up feeling refreshed as ever. We were so energized, neither of us even really needed coffee before we got to work.

We thought it was a fluke, but the next couple of weeks proved it wasn't.

Call me pessimistic, but I honestly thought that it could have been some kind of strange one-off situation. Maybe it was just because we were both tired after hauling the other mattress to the curb?

Night after night, we noticed the same thing happen. We'd sink into the foamy, cushiony mattress and almost instantly fall asleep. It was like sleeping on a cloud!

As the nights filled with restful sleep continued on, we started to notice a lot of differences in our lives.

Pardon the pun, but we saw a "night and day" difference when it came to the effects all those nights of restful sleep gave us. We started to eat better. We stopped relying on energy drinks in the morning and nightcaps to fall asleep.

Even the way we looked started to change. My usually-blotchy complexion started to get better. Both of us lost a little bit of weight, which we both believe may have to do with our lowered levels of stress. Oh, and those under-eye bags we had after particularly sleepless nights? Gone!

I'll be honest. Neither my husband nor I tend to be very health conscious. We guzzle energy drinks and coffee. We enjoy a good amount of junk food. Yoga's not our thing.

Even though we're not total health nuts, we'd be blind not to see the perks having a Yaasa bed gives us. Getting the Yaasa mattress was something that was undeniably a great choice for our health—and one we'd definitely make again.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Sasha Konikovo

Born in the Ukraine and currently a citizen of New York City, Sasha Konikovo has become obsessed with makeup, fashion, and anything that keeps her svelte figure looking sharp. She hopes to marry a billionaire and have a lifestyle like Paris Hilton soon enough.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.