Longevity logo

I let my Spotify choose my jogging playlist: Here's what happened

Music is a personal thing, but it can be fun to be adventurous with it

By Jay CorderoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
I let my Spotify choose my jogging playlist: Here's what happened
Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

The music you choose for working out can be a very personal choice, which is no surprise considering how specifically personal taste in the music itself is. Despite this, I wanted to add an extra layer to the vocal challenge of the week.

Here are the rules I gave myself and the reasoning behind them:

1. The playlist has to be from Spotify.

Thanks to technology and algorithms, we get to enjoy personalized everything nowadays. This is no different when it comes to playlists. I've been using Spotify for a few years now, which means that they have valuable data that, in theory, should be enough to deliver perfect playlists for any occasion.

2. It has to be the first playlist I see under workout playlists that are on the home page

This will help me avoid taking hours to search for the perfect playlist. Also, this rule helps with rule number 3.

3. Can't listen to the music or look at the songs before the jog

This rule will create the extra layer of difficulty I wanted to incorporate into this piece.

Right now, it is 8:30 PM before the jog, and I wanted to record some of my thoughts about this challenge. After the jog, I will record my experience and opinions about the whole thing. Honestly, I think it will be super tempting to look for the perfect playlist, especially considering that I am not a regular jogger. The most exercise I do is a little bit of yoga once in a blue moon. However, I am hoping this experiment will lead to creating a habit of regularly exercising.

BEFORE THE JOG

I woke up to my alarm, which I quickly snoozed for an extra few minutes in bed. After struggling to get out of bed, I decided to start my experiment; I figured that some music would help me get in the mood.

I popped my headphones in and started looking through my Spotify home page. Luckily it wasn't too difficult to find a playlist. Right under a workout section on my home page, I found a playlist called "Latin cardio." This wasn't surprising considering how much I love Latin music, and Spotify certainly knows that.

Con Altura

The first song that comes on was one of my favorites. This was perfect for getting me started. I decide to stretch a little before leaving my bed. I put myself in child's pose while listening to the upbeat song. While it wasn't the traditional yoga song, it certainly helped me wake up.

Once the song was over, I got out of bed to get ready for my jog. The second song started playing, but I decided to hit pause while I got ready.

Before leaving my house, I decided to listen to another song to prepare for my experiment. The next song that came on was one that I had never heard before. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

Safaera by bad bhunny

DURING THE JOG

I'm not going to lie; my jog didn't last long. I am currently living in New York City, which means the weather is getting colder and harsher. However, I didn't let this stop me. I decided that I wouldn't be outside for too long, but once I got home, I would do some freestyle cardio to get the blood flowing.

Here are the songs I jogged to:

Se te Nota by Lele Pons

Don't Start Now by Dua Lipa

Mala Santa by Becky G

Runaway by Sebastian Yatra

Favorito by Camilo (this one I walked to)

Overall I did enjoy the music I listened to. However, I don't think these were the perfect songs to keep me going. While the transition between songs was smooth, the contrast between songs would sometimes throw me off. Also, I guess this playlist was better for cardia, as the name suggests.

AFTER THE JOG

I learned from my cousin that aftercare and stretching are as crucial as the workout itself. Once I was home and done with the jogging, I kept my headphone in and dropped to the floor to stretch my leg muscle.

CONCLUSION

I hate jogging outside. This is something I already knew of myself. However, this experiment reinforced what I already know. Other than that, today, I discovered new music that I can incorporate into my current playlists.

I didn't get through the full list, but this is an experiment I wouldn't recommend. I learned that if you are going to work out with music, it has to be something that has the right beat and rhythm to not disrupt the movement. However, if your intention is to have a dance party, this playlist would be great for that!

Here is the full playlist I listened to.

athletics
2

About the Creator

Jay Cordero

Hello!

Ever since I was little I loved stories; they made me feel connected to something bigger than myself. This is why I am working towards becoming a writer. I want to be able to replicate the bliss I feel when reading for my readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.