Longevity logo

"I Hear You"

My discovery at Bell Rock

By Byron ForsterPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

For my 27th birthday, me and my mother journeyed to the orange, green, and crimson wonders of Sedona, Arizona. It was a while since I last hung out with her, so I thought a four day trip out of the city together would be a needed break from the world. As a dynamic duo we toured different areas where spiritual energies would be felt. Our first stop was a Buddhist sanctuary dubbed the Amitahba Stuppa near Chimney Rock. The second was a protected ecosystem herald for its' strong electro-magnetic fields. Another was Airport Mesa; which was overrun by tourists. The third was Boynton Canyon; whose silent winds had no echoes still haunt me. Fourth, Cathedral Rock. Fifth, a gemstone shop where I bought my first collection of stones and a crystal. And the sixth, an art gallery that housed amazing ethereal and Native American Art. But none of that will ever beat my next and final experience; at the base of Bell Rock.

It was the last day of our trip with 90 degree morning weather. Deep down I really wanted to climb the famous mountain. My mom, who was the head driver at the time, made the decision to stop by it's closest trail. She assumed we would catch a closer view and take pictures. But me, I was ready to literally go on the trail and hike the mountain. Since my mom was not adapt to climbing she stayed in the air-conditioned car while I hiked up. And when I mean hiked I mean speed hiked, as in a speed walked fast. I was wearing a big and wide white hat for coverage and a big bottle of water at my side. I've always been a fast walker, so I didn't think I was pushing myself.

While walking I noticed the small tress around me beginning to twist and warped. From what I learned during that trip any places with twisting trees is proof that strong energies are afoot. And no doubt I felt Bell Rocks true power. Seconds later I felt way out of breath then I should. The air leaving me and coming back like I was continuously sharing my breath with an unknown presence. The sweat poring down my eyes with wet fountains increase the feel of a warm breeze. In normal circumstance I'd stop, sit down, and see what is going on with my body. But strangely my legs pressed forward with head held high and focused on the destination. The pull grew stronger the more I hiked up the trail. After 5 minutes of this asthma like hypnosis, my lungs returned to normal as I arrived at the second half of the trail. Steep rocks, bulky boulders, and thin stalagmite protrude from ground like a perpendicular rock wall. My flow of walking had become marching steps to grab hold of the rugged terrain with soles. Again the motion changed again into skipping as I naturally hop from rock to rock.

As I kept going, memories of my past self flashing in parallel to my strides. A young me, 8-10 years of age, thriving in the unknown of the wilderness in front. No fear of my short-comings or destinations was what I once felt. And those same feelings, that same old me, has full control of my body now. But why? None of the other sites in Sedona had ever gave me this kind of possessed feeling before. And right when I finally gained back my older body, I found myself at the base of the mountain. My water supplies was barely touched, so I started drinking in big gulps to replenish. The trail I was on continued upward like a spiral to the top. My current station was north side of the Bell, away from the roads. And with closer inspection, I noticed more trees twisting and warping in the direction opposite of the Bell. Couldn't help but take a few photos of the trees with my phone. But once I aimed the lens at the mountain top, I felt.....a vibration. Was the mountain or just the sound of wind mimicking cars engines? The confusion and curiosity prompted me to touch the rock. Thus with a single palm, I placed my touch on the brown, orange and red surface.

And the rest blew my mind!

Though it was summer, though the heat of the sun bellowed, the the surface did not feel hot or luke warm. This sensation began spreading throughout my body as I felt the air becoming cooler. It felt so calming I closed my eyes for ten seconds. And within those seconds....

"Bumpbump,bumpbump"

I raised my hand quick. "Did the rock just vibrate or was that a heart beat!", I said out loud. I couldn't help but placed my hand on the surface again. It was faint but I could feel subtle vibrations. Was this from the people hiking to the top or was it something else? The shock made me survey my position more, believing I found a spot with mystic mojo. Once I looked back from the trails start, I was at awe. The spot I was on oversaw a unrecognizable Sedona. Vibrant green and red forged an abstract painting of other mountains and rock hills. All the trees I spotted till now presented shapes and textures of snakes skin along the land. I said to myself "Is this really Arizona?". And despite where I'm at, the trail still leads to the top. Meaning there is more weird stuff ahead to experience. "If I continue up. Would I want to get back down?"

Out of fear of having a literal out of body experience, I decided to stay put and meditate on this discovery. A memory came back from the time I chatted with a resident male tour guide. He told me about a energy manipulation meditation that people use in Sedona. He said to me, "when you find a strong vortex position your hands to your chest like holding a round mirror from top to bottom. This will help you absorb the energies around you". I couldn't let this moment pass. I took out the gemstones from my pocket and held them in left palm right to my solar plexus. Then curved my right hand over the stones. And last, I close my eyes and took deep breaths.

Concentrating on my breath, I began to search the world around me with my ears. Heard many sounds from the wind, the freeway, the fellow climbers...and a whisper from behind? The deeper my breath went the quieter my mind became. The whisper from behind began to overpower the sounds of everything else. It tells me to feel the ground beneath my feet, the kisses on my skin from the air, and the stones that seem to be weightless in my hand. "I Hear You" I thought. And the last thing it said was open my eyes. What was familiar looked bright and new to me. My heart echoes from my chest like a horse. My mind, clear, proud and happy.

It was close to noon now. I climbed and hiked down the pathway to my mom. With a joyful heart and filled with bliss I shared my experience with my mother. She tells me I should write down what I experienced so I don't forget about it in the future. And I did, but how could I forget that amazing discovery. Thus I hope posting this memory will motivate readers to experience a similar adventure when journeying to Sedona. And when you do, you best listen to that whisper. Because I believe....that whisper.....is a higher power. A presence reminding ourselves to find peace in the adventure of life. No matter the struggle.

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.