Longevity logo

I haven't been back to the gym in 18 months

Here is how it is going

By A.A.C.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I haven't been back to the gym in 18 months
Photo by Danielle Cerullo on Unsplash

February 28th. 2020:

That was the last date that I went to the gym in 2020. I had a goal for 2020: I would lose a lot of weight. I was determined to because I had a lot of things that I wanted to do in 2020:

1. Get ready for “Hot Girl Summer”

2. 4th of July was on Saturday and I wanted to go the beach and wear a nice bathing suit

3. Vacation with friends

4. Halloween was on Saturday and I wanted more than anything to wear a lady Gaga costume from her “Stupid Love” music video.

5. I also had a huge goal where I would walk 10,000 steps a day

The reason for stopping? Covid was in the U.S. and a couple of weeks before that, my family and I were so sick that we actually thought we were dying. So, I stopped going to the gym. 2 weeks later, we were on lock down. I was devastated. I needed the gym badly in order to lose weight. I tried many ways to lose weight, but it was nothing like the gym to make me want to lose weight. I gave up. The only thing that I did was go for a walk. The biggest irony in this whole situation: I actually got very badly from going to the gym. I loved going to the gym but the gym was sick of me so much it literally made me sick.

August 2021

Well, I decided that I would go back to the gym. I was vaccinated and since my niece and nephew were going back to school, I decided to go back to the gym. I was nervous; so was my family. My family worried if I would bring anything back to them, but I took precautions:

1. I wore a mask at the gym at all times

2. I washed the machines before and after I used machines

3. I washed my hands and used hand sanitizer whenever I touched the machine

4. I made sure to keep my distance

I have not been sick at all (knock on wood) and neither has anyone in my family. I have been going to the gym for almost a month and now my results:

1. I LOST 6 POUNDS in… 2 WEEKS! I could not believe it. I was walking more than 10,000 steps a day for 5 days a week, I also measured my cardio vs weights (60% cardio; 40% weights).

2. I have been able to sleep better. I heard that when you are active, your sleep regimen is better.

3. My appetite changed. I was no longer eating unhealthy, I was drinking smoothies/juicing and eating one meal a day. It was enough for me.

4. My clothes are becoming looser

5. My skin is clearer

6. PMS is also a breeze for me too. Since exercising, I do not have pain and really did not need to take any medication

I have the drive again. I feel myself being motivated and the fact that I was losing weight in that matter of time has made me feel so much better. Yet, I am scared as hell. I fear that the gym might go back to being closed down again. I fear that without the gym...I will relapse and gain weight. I need the gym for so many reasons:

1. It is the only way for me to lose weight. I can not lose weight any other way. I have tried

2. It is the only thing that keeps me social. I have friends, but we live a distance from each other.

3. It keeps me mellow and relaxed

Without the gym, I do not recognize myself in a bad way; with the gym, I do not recognize myself...in a good way. Hopefully, the gym can stay open and I can still work on myself.

wellness
Like

About the Creator

A.A.C.

I want to see if I have a career in writing and put it to the test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.