Longevity logo

I Have Covid: Day One

A Virtual Journal

By J.B. MillerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Have Covid: Day One
Photo by Matt Seymour on Unsplash

Well, it has finally got me. I thought I had lasted longer than my luck should have held out. But in all honestly, I hardly ever left the house until recently unless absolutely necessary. Then tonight, when I went to pick my husband up from the train station, I began to feel rotten. Sore, achy bones and muscles. Shivers and inability to get warm; Not to mention the dry, achy eyes and lips. I came home and told hubby I would lay down that it had been a long day.

However, after lying in bed for an hour, unable to get comfortable and warm no matter how many covers I put on I gave up trying to sleep. So, instead, I got up and decided to grab one of the lateral flow tests we have in the house. It was more to ease my mind than anything, but the two lines popped up together within a min.

image by jb miller

Modern Communication

As you can see from the above photo, I could message hubby without leaving my room—the reality of modern communication. The kids are all a bit freaked out; my nine-year-old daughter, who is physically attached to me 99.9 per cent of the time, is about to paint my door with a red x to show that I'm unclean.

They are all worried, but right now, I'm not too bad. I just feel flu-ish. I can't remember if I have mentioned it already, but I have been double jabbed. My middle child, who is Autistic, received his booster jab last night. I pray that no one there caught it off us. I didn't go in, so that's a plus. I never go into shops if I don't have to. I usually drive my husband, sit in the car, and read a book while he goes shopping.

Don't let your guard down:

That was probably my downfall; even though I went to a few places, I had stopped wearing my mask everywhere. I will not be making that mistake again once I'm free of this hell. I refuse to believe anything else, but a speedy recovery will happen.

I do not have a lot of the main symptoms other than a fever. It's sitting at 38.6 degrees celsius at the moment. Still, I have taken paracetamol or Tylenol for my American readers; I've been in the UK so long now that I automatically use the UK terms for everything.

PCR test:

Tomorrow, we are going to a drive-in testing centre to have a PCR test. I, hubby and the kids will all have one, just to double-check. They took a lateral flow test tonight; thankfully, they were negative. I will let everyone know more tomorrow about how things are going. But before I go, I want to keep a note of my symptoms so far. I have a weird one.

Symptoms:

  • Fever
  • Sore throat
  • achy all over
  • feeling run down
  • hypersensitive skin (This is the weird one. it is a symptom but a rare one.) My skin is incredibly tender to touch and hurts slightly.
  • dizzyness

I still have smell and taste, I'm not coughing at all, so hopefully, this will be a light case of the illness. However, that may end in a moment; my husband is pulling out his super-strong mouth wash for me to gargle. His working theory is it can't hurt. My throat flesh may disagree, but I'm willing to give it a go. If anyone wants to offer up prayers, feel free to do so. God and I have a pretty good relationship, but I'm not ready to visit him yet.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.