Longevity logo

How Yoga Changed My Life

A yogis journey to personal freedom

By Casey CoffieldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Yoga came to me at the time I realized my emotions were controlling me. My mental health had been going down hill for years and after graduating college, entering a pandemic and working a job my heart and soul do not belong to had begun to take its toll. In January 2021 I became interested in yoga. I had always longed for a physical activity that made my mind feel as good as my body. In November 2021 I began to take yoga more seriously. I just had bilateral carpal tunnel surgery at this time. I decided to purchase a 30 day pass for the studio down the street from me and completely alone, showed up for a 45-minute lunch session while I was on break from work. I left that studio feeling like a new person; Someone who felt confident she could finish off her day with a clear mind, and a new perspective on what it meant to feel content with where I was in life at that moment. Suddenly, my walk back to work wasn't so daunting and my neck wasn't so tight.

On January 1, 2022 I began a 30 day yoga challenge with my favorite yogi, Adriene Mishler or yogawithadriene on Youtube. I am writing this now after 115 days of daily yoga and a handful of modules and logged hours of yoga teacher training. I'm slower with my tongue and my anger. I choose to savor simpler moments instead of opting to get more done. My self respect and love soars higher than ever. I am comfortable with discomfort. I do not compare myself to others but I allow myself the opportunity to acknowledge the thoughts as normal when they arise. My body craves movement in a way it never had before. My desire for happiness became a reality through this outlet called yoga.

It's important I mention that yoga is not just movement of the body, but the connection between your movement and your breath. A holy matrimony. Without this, you're missing the cognitive effect of the practice. With yoga, I have learned to love myself. I have begun to heal my wounds. My entire life I have struggled with finding happiness. Struggled to find hobbies that kept my attention for more than a weeks time. I know I am on the right path because of the dedication yoga has instilled in me without struggle. I welcomed it with open arms and it has rewarded me time and time again.

Yoga has taught me that my body is not what it looks like but what it does for me. My breath keeps me grounded and focused. My muscles and my arms hold me up. My legs keep me stable. My body works hard and always shows up even if it doesn't want to, because it has to. Yoga helps my body regulate this responsibility. I have learned to trust the process, any process, because a little every day does go a long way. I see that now.

I aim to live an intentional life. I wish to live of wellness, happiness, minimalism, and compassion as my core values. I have yoga to thank for allowing me the space within my mind and body to take up room on this earth and live a life true to myself. Through yoga I have learned to understand where my thoughts are holding me back and strategize how to overcome them.

Yoga extends much farther into my life than just on the mat. Yoga is now a lifestyle for me and the ultimate self-care activity. Yoga is love, yoga is at my core. Yoga breathes a new sense of self into my being. Yoga may not bring you ultimate happiness and contentment, but I believe it has the potential of getting you there.

yoga
Like

About the Creator

Casey Coffield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.