Longevity logo

How to Wage Hope Against the Silent Killer in the Black Communities

Waging Hope for Pancreatic Cancer Awareness

By Curls and CoilsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
(Photo Courtesy of The Hippocratic Post)

The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network estimates that more than 57,000 Americans are expected to be diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in 2020. This disease is one of the deadliest forms of cancer and is more prevalent within the African American community. According to Johns Hopkins, the incidence rate for Pancreatic Cancer is 15.9 per 100,000 for Blacks as opposed to 13.4 per 100,000 for Whites. With last month being Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Month it's necessary to spread awareness within communities of color.

You see, Pancreatic Cancer is personal for me. My mother was diagnosed with this disease in January 2015. She then passed away in March 2015. Crazy right? Unfortunately, the many signs of Pancreatic Cancer mirror a host of other illnesses. Some risk factors are diabetes, hypertension, ethnicity, gender, smoking and obesity. Some symptoms are weight loss, jaundice, loss of appetite and nausea.

(Photo Courtesy of C. Scott. Images of my Mom, Sandra Durant.)

My mother's initial diagnosis was already in Stage 4. She was immediately hospitalized for hospice care which mainly treated the symptoms due to no cure being an option. Were there signs? Looking back on it, yes there were a few signs. For me, the dramatic weight loss was a concern. Although my mother was not severely overweight she never exercised or dieted. So once she drastically began losing weight I did question her health. However, she was proud to "lose a few pounds".

Respiratory symptoms crept in and what was thought to be bronchitis or pneumonia led to the cancer diagnosis. I still can hear her asking me to come with her to the doctor's appointment because she didn't understand what they were saying about the test results. My heart stopped when I heard the news. My pain worsened once the physicians reported that it had already spread and that we needed to admit my mother into hospice.

I had never heard of Pancreatic Cancer before yet it now consumed my thoughts and was quickly taking my mother's life. I quickly began to hear of celebrities who also had the disease. I then began to find out that the disease affected African Americans and males more heavily. Mom's battle was short lived and did not allow for clinical trials or other treatment options.

Since her passing I vowed to spread awareness. I vowed to increase knowledge about the risk factors and its seriousness for a potential diagnosis. This advocacy also caused me to look in the mirror. I was slowly failing at being at a healthy weight and constantly being warned about being pre-diabetic. Everyday is a baby step closer to a healthier life. The more you know, the more you'll grow. Either way I value the opportunity to educate myself and others about risk factors in the fight to wage hope against Pancreatic Cancer. My fight is for my mom. My fight is for those who fought alone. My fight is for those who were active caregivers for their loved ones. My fight is so that you can live happier and healthier without this diagnosis.

So wear your purple to help wage hope against those who have lost their fight. Wear purple for those who are still fighting. Wear purple to break those generational influences. Wear purple to stand in the fight to save more lives. To learn more please visit www.pancan.org. R.I.P. Mom, "Piggy", Ms. Durant and "Gi-Gi" as we wage hope in your honor.

Writer, C. Scott, is a mother of one; author, social worker, early literacy interventionist and entrepreneur. Follow her on social media as @curls_coils and @mysweettealife.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Curls and Coils

Writer, C. Scott, is a mother of one; author, social worker, and entrepreneur. Follow her on Instagram as @curls_coils and @mysweettealife. Visit her online at http://linktr.ee/curlscoils or www.curlscoils.net.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.