Longevity logo

How to Start Your Day a Bit Better...

Some ideas that might make your life a little less gloomy, for those days when the dark clouds just won't shift.

By Ella-May MillsPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
This image serves no purpose, I promise you.

I figured that the most helpful thing I could do, would be to share some of my tips and tricks when it comes to having a less 'shitty' day.

Stay Lit:

  • Excuse the pun, but actually waking up in a bright room with plenty of colour and air, can really make a difference to the mood that you start your day off in. Open those windows, lift that blind (or curtains, whatever floats your boat). Before you freak out, this doesn't mean any trips out to buy a disgustingly expensive rug for your room. I literally paint my own art, and my favorite colour being yellow, means that I can also have a clean cut and colourful room without much effort. Check out Pinterest for some print-off inspirational quotes!

I currently have this framed in my room!

Hydrate:

  • Drinking a ton more water than you do will put your mind in such a better place. I always keep a bottle of squash in my handbag/car, etc. just to make sure that wherever I am, I can always stay hydrated. This is so important, because if you look after your body physically, it will reward you, not only with the health benefits, but the benefits of your mind too. Whether it's psychological or not, refreshing your body allows you to feel more awake and able to tackle everything and anything that the day might throw at you. Well OK, let's just start with a sip, yeah.

Get Out:

  • Again with the damn air. Being outside, even if it's for a minute and you're getting the laundry in, will help any negative feelings wisp away in the wind. The nature around you will refresh your thoughts (and open up endless of Instagram pic opportunities). If you need an excuse, walk the dog, walk your neighbours dog, just get outside at least once a day. Not only that, but it's scientifically proven that you're less likely to throw yourself off a cliff if you get outside once a day.

Less Tech:

  • I try and go an hour each morning without using my phone, from when I wake up, to when I feel like using it an hour later. I feel like this gives my mind time to actually gather itself, and have some peace without the pressures and negativity that social media, etc. emits on the daily. Just doing this makes me feel like I have less to worry about getting in the way of my day. If you are interested in doing this, I recommend the app: Moment. You can choose hourly limits in which you can use your phone in the day, and it'll notify you when you're close to overdoing it on Instagram, etc. Enjoy!

Plan More:

  • Honestly, I used to be so disorganised and then I discovered the to-do list on my phone. Life-changing, I know. For me personally, it's so easy to get stuck in a rut where you end up just sat on your bed wondering what the hell to do. I tend to make myself lists, even if it includes cleaning your teeth. The pure satisfaction of ticking things off will make you feel so much better about your day. Thus, putting you in a better mood = a happier day.

Meditation:

  • And before you even think it, its not the hippy kind of stuff. I use this site where you can do small meditations of around five minutes. If we're being honest here, I don't do these as often as I probably should, but they're so calm and reassuring that even listening to them whilst you eat your cereal will set you up for a damn good day. Oh, and did I mention, they're free? Yeah, you can thank me later.

That'll be all;

These are just some of my tried and tested tips for feeling a bit better about yourself, and avoiding a bad start to your day!

Over and out,

Ella xo

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Ella-May Mills

I am an 18 year old writer, consumed by beauty, wellness, positivity, art, movies, music, the lot.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.