Longevity logo

How To Have Your Big Mac And Eat It

The amazing effects of cutting down

By Adam EvansonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How To Have Your Big Mac And Eat It
Photo by Szabo Viktor on Unsplash

To be honest, I was never really a great lover of McDonalds from the get go. However, there have been many times when I had very little choice, it was a Big Mac or go hungry. When I worked on the road as a constantly on the go salesman I just had to grab whatever I could and get it down my neck as quickly as possible before moving on to my next appointment.

In the end I kind of got into eating other fast foods as well, like KFC. I have something of a weak spot for their chicken burger with French fries. Given a choice between a Mac and a KFC I would usually go for the Kentucky due to better fries, thou McDonalds do a better latte. All that being said, none of it is the healthiest choice of diet for a long and happy life.

Eventually the time came when I accepted that that type of food was not doing my health any good. My ideal weight, based on my height, my body mass and my age, is just under 80 kilos. Not only is it my ideal weight health wise, it is also a weight at which I feel good. In the short time following my exit from hospital last year at an extremely healthy 78 kilos I ballooned up to just under 100. Not good.

Twenty kilos over weight may not seem very much, but it is close to a quarter of the weight of my wife who normally tips the scales at around 50 kilos. Put it like that and you soon realise that twenty kilos is in fact quite a big difference in weight. And so I felt it was high time to grab the bull by the horns and do something about it.

When I first quit eating those fast foods I did quite miss the dopamine hit I got from from that type of fat fodder. However in no time at all the kilos started to drop off until eventually I hit my target weight. The health benefits were clear from the moment I started to lose that unwanted weight. I had more energy, more get up and go if you like, and I had more staying power in terms of stamina. Yes, I did suffer withdrawal symptoms a little, but in my case not too much. Besides, I have found that I can still indulge myself every now and then, like once every two weeks or so. And because of the now usual absence of that type of food in my diet, I enjoy it all the more when I do have it.

I recently saw a very good friend of mine who also had clearly lost a good deal of weight on his doctor's orders. When I asked him how he did it he told me that it was all down to giving up the Big Macs, or at least giving up the bread part of the burger. He kept with the contents of the burger, the meat and the salad part, and just ditched the floury part. I think there's a lot to be said for any strategy that helps you to shed unhealthy body mass, even if you only go halfway to quitting, every little helps as they say.

The problem with fast food excess weight is it can lead to blocked arteries in your heart or elsewhere for that matter. And of course, this brings with it an increased risk of a heart attack, a stroke or even cancer. So it's far better to cut it down now before it leads to any of those life threatening health problems.

At the end of the day nothing is forever. You can still indulge yourself every now and then like I do, just try to not let it take over your diet and ruin your health. Far better to reduce your intake now rather than wait for the day when you have to quit altogether by the drastic event of a premature death.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.