Longevity logo

How Quitting Caffeine Changed My Life

A Case for Banishing the Bean Juice

By Corrie AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
9

I never thought I’d be writing an article with this title.

That’s because coffee has been my beloved a.m. companion for the past 15 years. “Wake up and smell the coffee” wasn’t just an idiom for me, but the foundation of my whole morning routine.

It made my long commutes to work suck a little less and weekend mornings in all the cozier.

Truly, it was one of my favorite simple pleasures in life.

But I loved it so much that I was in complete denial that it could be causing an array of mental and physical health problems for years.

A few months ago I made the choice to break free from my addiction, and I was astonished at how much quitting caffeine changed my life.

Disclaimer: This content is for informational and/or educational purposes only based on my own research and experiences. It is not meant to be taken as professional medical or health advice!

The Pros and Cons of Caffeine

One of the reasons it's so hard to quit caffeine is because it's long been touted for its many health benefits.

So if you need legitimate reasons to help justify your coffee addiction, you will find no shortage of scientific evidence concluding that caffeine alleviates pain, increases longevity, facilitates weight loss, and enhances performance.

But the problem is you can easily have too much of a good thing.

Or in my case, way too much: around 500-600 milligrams per day, which is considerably more than the FDA’s recommendation of 400 milligrams per day. At those levels, side effects can include jitteriness, insomnia, anxiety, headaches, and a multitude of other dysphoric effects.

It’s a pretty clear indication of when to stop drinking coffee, and I was checking all those boxes.

Hitting Bottom (Of More Than the Coffee Pot)

I suffered occasional migraines for the past decade, but it was only within the last couple of years that they really started becoming a problem.

It got so bad that I went on prescription pills to mitigate the attacks. I started avoiding all alcohol and exercise, thinking they were the primary culprits behind my episodes.

When that had no effect on my migraines, I picked up a book called Heal Your Headache, by M.D. David Buchholz. The book is mostly about a specific diet for controlling your migraine triggers, but the chapter that really stood out to me was the one about caffeine and its role in causing headaches.

At the time I had been so convinced that caffeine was helping my headaches that it never occurred to me it could be what was causing them.

I was so desperate I decided right then and there I would quit the hard stuff and limit myself to decaffeinated beverages only. (Yes, I know that decaf still contains a little caffeine but we’re talking about 7 mgs a cup, which is a negligible amount.)

That was a little more than three months ago.

The Benefits of Quitting Caffeine

I quit caffeine with a particular goal in mind, but I wasn’t prepared for the plethora of other life-changing benefits that came with dropping the java. (Or the severe withdrawal symptoms that came first - more on that later!)

Here are the main benefits I’ve enjoyed since quitting coffee:

1. My Migraines Have All But Stopped

It didn’t happen right away, but I have been more or less migraine-free for over a month now, with just one minor episode that resolved in a few hours with ibuprofen and a good night’s sleep.

However, caffeine has long been promoted as a treatment for headaches, so what gives?

Pain is caused by increased blood flow to the nerves, and caffeine restricts the blood vessels which reduces the pain.

The problem is when your body becomes dependent on caffeine. When in caffeine withdrawal, the vessels expand again and become even more painful than they were to begin with.

And here’s the kicker: your body can go into caffeine withdrawal in as little as 12 hours. In retrospect, this makes total sense as I would often wake up in the middle of the night with a crippling migraine, which was typically 12-14 hours after my last cup.

Does that mean I think that caffeine is the sole factor behind my migraines?

No.

But it looks like it was by far and away the biggest trigger. Today, I am back to all my normal activities, able to exercise regularly and enjoy a glass of wine without fearing the potential repercussions.

2. My Sleep Quality Has Improved Dramatically

For years now, getting proper sleep seemed impossible. I had a solid evening routine and was going to bed and getting up on the same schedule every day. Yet, I still tossed and turned for hours almost every single night.

Now I fall asleep easily and wake up during the night far less frequently.

I am still a light sleeper but I no longer shut off the lights at night dreading the frustration of insomnia.

The reason for this is pretty simple: caffeine is a stimulant that takes up to 10 hours to clear from your bloodstream. So even if you are having a cup in the late morning or early afternoon, it can still wreak havoc on your sleep patterns.

3. My Anxiety Issues Have Disappeared

I struggled with what I thought was GAD for years, but it became considerably worse as my coffee consumption increased.

I used to lay awake at night conjuring up all the worst things that could happen, convinced of imminent, outlandish scenarios that were less likely than getting struck by lightning. I knew my worries bordered on ridiculousness but I couldn’t stop obsessing about them.

In all that time, it never dawned on me that caffeine jitters could be the driving force behind my anxiety.

If I’d known that caffeine-induced anxiety was an actual disorder, I might have put the pieces together a little sooner.

It’s been incredibly liberating to live each day without the constant cacophony of “but what if” running on repeat through my brain.

4. I Feel More Alert and Focused

This one may seem hard to believe since the whole reason why many of us drink coffee in the first place is to feel more awake.

And while that morning cup o’ Joe did help me feel more energetic in the mornings, I often felt lethargic and unfocused by mid-afternoon.

Having broken free from the crutch of caffeine, my energy levels are a lot more stable throughout the day. The fact that I am sleeping a lot better and waking up more refreshed plays a large part in this as well, I’m sure.

5. My Overall Mood Has Improved

This last one may mostly be a byproduct of the previous four benefits, but it’s nevertheless true.

Having more energy to tackle my job, exercise, and pursue the things I enjoy makes me feel happier and more creative.

There is a scientific element to this too: caffeine increases your cortisol levels, which is a stress hormone that causes inflammation and blood sugar levels to surge. In turn, this contributes to feeling cranky and low.

The Quitting Caffeine Timeline

You can likely see how the combination of these five things can totally transform a person.

But these changes didn’t happen overnight. It was a gradual transition that took about three months.

It’s worth mentioning because if you decide to quit caffeine and aren’t seeing changes right away, you may just need to stick with it a bit longer.

So how long does it take to see results? And how long does caffeine withdrawal last?

I compiled my own experience for you into this timeline. Spoiler alert: things got worse before they got better.

Which brings me to this little piece of advice: Do NOT quit caffeine cold turkey.

Just don’t do it. I did, and it was harrowing. If you decide to quit coffee, taper off over the course of a week or two, cutting down by one cup at a time and mixing with decaf if you need to.

You can quite literally avoid a lot of headaches this way.

But I can now say without a shadow of a doubt that quitting caffeine changed my life in the best possible way.

Here’s how it went down for me:

Week 1: Everything is Worse Now

Less than 24 hours after my last cup, I wake up with the worst migraine I’ve ever had. The prescription triptans that I save for such headaches don’t even touch it.

I’m completely bedridden for two days before it lets up enough for me to function.

It’s around this time that I look up caffeine withdrawal symptoms and realize that the cold turkey method was a very poor choice. However, I’m already three days in so I decide to tough it out.

The body aches and nausea join forces with the relentless fatigue on the fourth day. I feel so horrible that if it weren’t for the complete absence of a fever and cough, I would have thought I’d come down with COVID-19 or some other dastardly flu bug.

Week 2: Starting to Feel Like Myself Again

The worst of it is over but I still feel tired and need to take it easy.

Decaf tastes like disappointment and lies. It's barely better than nothing. I briefly contemplate going back to the real thing but resist. (Thankfully.)

Week 3 - 4: Things Are Improving

Around week three I notice I am sleeping a lot better and my anxiety levels are dropping. I get one migraine during the fourth week and a triptan took care of it.

Month 2: I’m Cautiously Optimistic

I get two migraines, two weeks apart, which is a vast improvement over getting one or two every week.

By this time I’ve forgotten what actual coffee tastes like and as a result, I’m able to drink the decaf without feeling like I’m getting ripped off.

I start easing back into exercise again with two workouts a week and my energy levels are much better.

Month 3 - Today: A New Me!

Aside from one minor episode last month, I have been headache-free for the past 5 weeks. My energy levels are at an all-time high.

I’m feeling a lot more creative and wake up feeling excited to tackle my day and work on new projects.

I’m back to exercising 4-5 times a week and my baseline mood is definitely more cheerful.

My anxious episodes are a thing of the past. I haven’t had a needless worry in weeks, and it’s the best freaking feeling ever.

The Takeaway

At the end of the day, caffeine is a drug. And like any drug, you need to educate yourself on its effects, if it’s right for you, and how much of it you should be taking if it is.

As with so many things in life, moderation is likely the key to a healthy relationship with coffee and other caffeinated foods.

But for me, I see no reason to reintroduce temptation into my life now that I’ve seen how much quitting caffeine changed my life. I know myself and it would be all too easy for me to slide back into my 6-cups-a-day habit.

Switching to decaf is a small price to pay for everything I’ve gained.

If you enjoyed this article or found it helpful, please hit the Like button and consider sending a small tip - every little bit is deeply appreciated and helps me create even more content for you!

diet
9

About the Creator

Corrie Alexander

Corrie is an ISSA-certified PT, fitness blogger, fiction-lover, and cat-mom from Ontario, Canada. Visit her website, thefitcareerist.com or realmofreads.com for book reviews and bookish tips.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.