Longevity logo

How I Started Witchcraft

and how you can start too

By Chloe NoelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
How I Started Witchcraft
Photo by Kitti Incédi on Unsplash

I am fairly new to witchcraft, I have been practicing for about two months and this is how I got started and why. I will post another story where i talk about what I have learned in my research.

I started practicing witchcraft in November and a lot of people asked me why I started and how I got started. I started because had been watching a lot of TikTok videos about witchcraft that were recommended to me and one day it started feeling right, I decided to do some research and watch more videos about it and it was very interesting to me. I do not get very interested in many things anymore and I started developing a passion for it and I would do research almost 12 hours a day to learn as much as I could to get started. It was making me so unbelievably happy, so I kept doing it and I have not lost the happiness I started with which is rare.

At first I started looking up all of the benefits of crystals, how to make spell jars, different herbs, moon water, moon phases and so much more. I do not recommend learning how I did because I just wanted to know everything immediately, learn at your own pace and you do not need to know everything when you start.

If you are thinking of starting your own practice I recommend starting off slow and learn about one thing at a time so you can truly learn everything correctly. Here are some things you can start with, the different types of witchcraft, the origin of witchcraft, difference between Pagan, Wiccan and witchcraft, types of crystals and their benefits, types of herbs and their benefits and dos and don'ts of witchcraft. once you have done the basic research on the history of the practice you can go more in depth with your research, what you choose to learn afterwards is up to you depending on what you want to do in your practice because everyone has their own practices. Here are some ideas if you are still unsure of what you can look for, how to clean different types of crystals, which herbs can be harmful, celebrations and holidays, rituals, veiling, spells, astrology, Grimoires/Book of Shadows, essential oils, incense, candles, pendulums, prayers, meditation and anything you feel is needed. I find a lot of spells and other information on Pinterest, I also watch a lot of YouTube videos, find things on Google, you can go to your local book store and find beginner's guides or Grimoires and if you cannot find anything at a book stores, they sell good ones on Amazon.

One thing I wish I knew when i started is that you do not need to buy fancy thing or a bunch of herbs and crystals, you can buy dollar store candles, the herbs in your kitchen are fine and you can buy two crystals and be fine. The only things you really need if you are planning on doing spells and rituals are candles, Rosemary which can be a substitute for any herb you may need, clear Quartz which can be a substitute for any crystal and Selenite for cleansing, you can also get incense for cleansing if you wish.

Always remember that you can do whatever you want with your practice and use what you want, the most important thing that you will need is your intention, your intention is the only thing that really matters. Your practice is your own and you can pick up any information that you need, I hope you enjoy your practice and find truth in yourself. Blessed be.

spirituality
2

About the Creator

Chloe Noel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.