Longevity logo

How I Found My Passion And Inspiration

Passion and inspiration inspire healing and expansion.

By Silena Le BeauPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Many people who fall in love with their job are extremely lucky. There are others who are sick and tired of their job and bounce around trying different careers every so often.

That wasn't the case for me. I was so content that I stayed in the same field til I was a senior and no I don't mean a 12th grader!

I Love my job because I Finish this sentence: 'I love my job because...'" Maybe it’s the awesome company culture, meaningful interactions, or daily problem solving that sets your soul on fire or helping others gives you a sense of purpose and satisfaction.

My career and passion for helping minorities in small cities who may not have the opportunity like those in private schools.

It was 1990,when I first developed my passion for working with students. I was a young girl living in New York City at the age of just nine years old. They began a youth program for youngsters to try it out and we were actually given a paycheck of $75. It may not seem like much but at our age that was ALOT!!! I bought me a fresh pair of kicks for 7th grade that Summer.

30 years ago when i first began to work for the board of education is when the spark gleamed in my eye and sooner rather than later, my heart. I wasn't even a teenager when I first started working with children and I was a child myself. I used to pinch myself to make sure i wasn't dreaming.

Since then I have been blessed to work in N.Y., Dallas, Miami and Tennessee. I have thoroughly enjoyed working in every city and getting the opportunity to assist my students on an awakening journey and give them an experience that they had no idea existed which was something I had to figure out on my own.

Each class I had we would do a gratitude project as a family and they learned that we truly are one. We went to see plays, and each group designed murals. They also learned to sew and knit and made a unity blanket that we'd put up for auction then donate both the blanket and funds to a charity. They loved this project and others who saw them in creativity mode always wanted to take my class the following year. I always had children by the hundreds who couldn't take my class because there was no way I could accommodate all of them. To show my genuine disdain for feeling disheartened I would give an annual block party and include all of those who couldn't join the class and invited their families for a day of fun and entertainment and it would be at the local beach.

I was given a surprise party after my fifth decade into retirement. It bought tears of joy to my eyes. I received so many cards, gifts and love from most of my students that I had taught. Some of whom I had 50 plus years prior which put me in shock. The sad part is I retired after 52 years of teaching and my students were in denial that the time had come to an end. Trust me if I could teach another 52 year I would have in a heartbeat. I wish I could teach forever.

Without a shadow of a doubt I love what I do and the memories that I created over the years. But just like everything else, all good thing must come to an end.

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Silena Le Beau

She expresses her gift of writing through each piece. She studied writing in college and has been inspiring people for 20 years. She gives back to the community & enriches them with enlightenment. Philanthropist, Empath and Nature lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.