Longevity logo

How I Beat Dandruff and Hair Loss with Red Light Therapy

By Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have a confession to make. I used to hate my hair. Not because of the color, texture, or length, but because of the flakes. Yes, I had dandruff. And not just a little bit, but a lot. It was like a snowstorm on my scalp every time I brushed or washed my hair.

I was so embarrassed by my dandruff that I avoided wearing dark clothes or going out in public. I felt like everyone was staring at my flaky scalp and judging me. I also worried that my dandruff was affecting my hair health and growth.

I noticed that my hair was thinning and falling out more than usual. I wondered if dandruff was the cause of my hair loss. I searched online for answers and found out that dandruff itself does not cause hair loss, but the two may be linked. This is because some infections and medical conditions can cause both dandruff and hair loss.

I learned that dandruff is a symptom, not a specific diagnosis. Many factors can cause dandruff, such as dry skin, diet, stress, and some shampoos and hair products. Dandruff itself does not cause hair loss. However, severe dandruff can cause a person to scratch their scalp so hard that they injure it.

Repeated inflammation in the hair follicles can cause damage and scarring, slowing or stopping hair growth. This can cause weak or thinning hair. Twisting the hair, aggressively brushing it, or scratching the scalp may make this type of hair loss worse.

Some medical conditions can also cause dandruff or flaky skin on the scalp, including seborrheic dermatitis i A condition that causes a rash that often looks red, scaly, and oily. , eczema i A condition that causes dry, itchy, and inflamed skin. , scalp psoriasis i A type of autoimmune condition that causes itchy, scaly patches to develop on the scalp. , and scalp ringworm i A fungal infection that causes red, circular patches on the scalp. . Some of these conditions are also associated with hair loss.

I decided to do something about my dandruff and hair loss problem. I wanted to find a natural and effective way to improve my scalp and hair health and growth. That’s when I came across red light therapy hair.

Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and healing in various tissues of the body. It can also benefit your hair by increasing its growth rate, thickness, density, and strength.

Red light therapy works for hair by delivering photons of light to your scalp and hair follicles. These photons are absorbed by the mitochondria i The organelles in cells that produce energy through cellular respiration. , the energy-producing units of your cells. This triggers a cascade of biochemical reactions that increase the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP) i The molecule that stores and transfers energy within cells. , the main source of energy for cellular functions.

By increasing the ATP levels in your scalp and hair follicles, red light therapy can:

Stimulate the anagen phase i The active growth phase of the hair cycle. of the hair cycle and prolong its duration. This means that more hairs will grow faster and longer.

Increase the blood flow and oxygen delivery to your scalp and hair follicles. This means that more nutrients and growth factors will reach your hairs and support their health.

Reduce the inflammation and oxidative stress in your scalp and hair follicles. This means that less damage and inflammation will occur to your hairs and their surrounding tissues.

Inhibit the action of 5-alpha reductase i The enzyme that converts testosterone to DHT. and lower the levels of DHT in your scalp. This means that less hairs will fall out due to hormonal causes.

I ordered a red light therapy cap online and started using it three times a week for 20 minutes per session. I wore the cap over my head like a helmet. It had built-in LED lights that emitted red or near-infrared light to cover my entire scalp area. It was convenient to use at home or anywhere else as it was portable and battery-operated.

I also started taking collagen powder as a daily supplement. Collagen is a protein that strengthens, supports, and provides structure for everything from bones and muscles to blood vessels and organs. It is also important for maintaining your mane.

Collagen is rich in amino acids that your body needs to build keratin, the protein that makes up hair. Collagen can also act as an antioxidant and fight damage caused by free radicals, which can harm your cells, proteins, and DNA.

I mixed one scoop of collagen powder with water or juice and drank it in the morning or before bed. The powder had a neutral taste and dissolved easily in liquid. It contained hydrolyzed collagen i Collagen that has been broken down into smaller peptides for easier absorption. from grass-fed bovine sources.

I was amazed by the results I saw from using red light therapy and collagen for my hair. Within a few weeks, I noticed that my dandruff was gone and that my scalp was less itchy and flaky. Within a few months, I noticed that my hair was growing faster and thicker and that it had more volume and bounce. I also noticed that my natural hair color was more vibrant and that I had fewer gray hairs.

I was thrilled by the changes in my hair. I felt more confident and beautiful. I started getting compliments from my friends and family on how great my hair looked. I felt like I had regained a part of my identity and beauty.

I have been using best handheld led light therapy device and collagen for my hair for over a year now and I am still very happy with the results. My hair is healthier, stronger, and longer than ever before. I love my hair and I love myself.

If you are struggling with dandruff and hair loss, I highly recommend you to try red light therapy and collagen for your hair. They are natural, safe, and effective ways to improve your scalp and hair health and growth. You have nothing to lose but your flakes and your worries.

I hope this article has inspired you to try these products for your hair. If you have any questions or comments, feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you!

beauty
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.