Longevity logo

Hitting Highs on Sleep, Exercise, Food & Inspiration

This is what I need to feel great every day

By GrantPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

As a guy my inner glow isn't sweet and pretty, it's more like amped up and fired up with high energy and happy vibes.

Sleep is a weapon. It's true because when you are well-rested you can smash the day like LeBron James on a wrecking ball. I have to get up super early so I aim to snooze by 10 pm.

To kickstart my day I get right into exercise and I mix it up all the time with walking the dog, taking a jog, lifting weights in my home gym or cycling around the block a few times. Then I hit the shower, make a green-loaded smoothy and get my online fix. Emails come first, then the news and if I have time I will surf around a bit.

Here's my smoothy recipe that I call The Green & Lean - it's more like a smoothie bowl some days when I am extra hungry and add in some delicious extras. I have to make it myself because I don't have a cafe nearby work that makes them anywhere as well as I do. I always worry they will throw some sugar or filler into the organic $10 super food smoothy. Too expensive and comes in a plastic cup. Making my own is way cheaper and fresher.

The Green & Lean

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup of milk (any kind)
  • 1 cup of kale
  • 1 kiwi fruit or avocado
  • 2 tablespoons of butter (almond if you have the fancy stuff in the fridge)
  • Half a cup of ice
  • Small scoop of chia seeds
  • Small handful of any berries
  • Water if you like a runnier consistency

Throw it all in the blender, wizz it up and add extras if you want to. Okay, I almost always do. Extras like yoghurt, more fruit and nuts. Not bacon and eggs. I'll use this recipe for a month or so then invent a new one.

Don't worry. I'm not a saint. Several coffee fixes will come in the afternoon.

Work is an hour commute on the train so I try to listen to a Podcast that is upbeat, fun and educational all at the same time. Tim Ferris and Gary Vee are my current favs. Those two meet each other a few years back. That Podcast was all-time epic.

If I can get all those goals in, I'm set for the day. Great sleep, exercise, a healthy power drink and some hyped up messages into my mind. All that is a lot of positive goodness for my mind and body so I am ready for a long day at work.

I'm a morning person. Can you tell? I'm pretty sure everyone at work likes to see me then cause I'm giving off so much positive energy.

So that's my daily routine that is extra special for me because it works. Extra essential would describe it better. If I miss any of my morning routine steps I'm off my game and defiantly not on a high vibe like normal. It might change in the future. As we get older, have lifestyle changes and things like pandemics happen, we might need more or less. Or just something different.

It's pretty basic common sense that all of these practices will make you feel great. Doing them every day and making it a habit or routine is the hard part.

It can take 3 weeks of daily repetition to form a habit that will flow nicely into a routine and give you that inner glow that is pure energy that you all want. We all search for it. We can all get it.

Got to go. It's bed time. Goodnight.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.