Longevity logo

Himalayan Salt Lamp Review

A product with actual health benefits or a marketing ploy?

By Michala Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Himalayan Salt Lamp Review
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

I know you have seen a chunk of pink salt emitting a glow in someone’s house or in a popular store. What you saw is most likely a Himalayan salt lamp. Are they just for decor or do they have a greater purpose?

Himalayan salt has been used in therapeutical ways for years. Within the past few years, pink salt has become a popular home decor item.

According to Healthline, authentic pink Himalayan salt derives from the Khewra Salt Mine in Pakistan. Salt harvested from here is centuries old and claims to be a natural ionizer packed with health benefits.

Benefits of Pink Himalayan Salt

When you turn on a pink Himalayan salt lamp, negative ions are released and purifies the air. This kind of light therapy has been around for many years around the world, but it has recently become popular in the United States.

When a lightbulb is surrounded by harvested salt, it is known to emit warm and air-cleaning energy.

Here are the benefits of pink Himalayan salt when used in light therapy:

  • Improving air quality
  • Soothe migraines and headaches
  • Strengthen the immune system
  • Increase serotonin levels
  • Decrease stress
  • Improve sleep

Other than the health benefits of salt lamp therapy, a lamp makes a great decorative piece to any space. The warm light it emits is both inviting and soothing.

Himalayan salt lamps look great but do they own up to the benefits they’re supposed to provide? Here is a review of my thoughts after years of usage of this product.

By Omar Prestwich on Unsplash

Himalayan Salt Lamp Review

I first bought this product in college when I was experiencing stress and depression for the first time. My salt lamp sits on my nightstand by my bed and rotates to other areas in my room. My average usage of this lamp is about three to four times a week. It makes a great nighttime light when reading, journaling, or relaxing before bed.

Air Quality

I feel as if the air in my room has improved since using the lamp. After moving to different apartments in different states, I can attest that the air is clearer in different environments. When I first moved into my apartment, the air seemed dusty and congested. Now the air feels a lot lighter and less congested.

Migraines + Headaches

Although I don’t suffer from migraines, I don’t think this lamp helps ease regular headaches. The headaches I usually get are from a lack of caffeine, too tight of a hairstyle, or tension headaches from clenching my jaw.

Immune System

Personally, I don’t have enough research or prolonged usage to determine if this Himalayan salt lamp can improve my immune system on its own. Everyone’s immune system is different, depending on their genes, diet, lifestyle, and more. I would say that the results of it improving my immune system are inconclusive.

Serotonin Levels

I do feel more calm and content when I am sitting near the lamp in my room, especially if I am writing journal entries or drawing.

Stress

Since I use my lamp during times when I choose to ease my stress, I would say it helps with my stress levels. When I use the lamp, it is during times when I seek healing and relaxation. This could also be an associative action as well. I would say the lamp is an assistant to helping with stress levels but is not the main cause.

Sleep

Some lamp users sleep with their lamps on. I for one am not able to sleep with light sources on, even if the light source is soothing. I sleep with light-blocking curtains; therefore, I am not the right person to see if this lamp improves sleep schedules or not.

Conclusion

Overall, I would say the Himalayan salt lamp is a decent product. I am satisfied with the results thus far. If you would like to give light therapy a try, I would recommend trying the Himalayan salt lamp technique. Some spas in the United States have installed light therapy rooms that offer the same results. I recommend trying one of those locations out before purchasing one for the use of health benefits.

Originally published here in 2016. Updated and edited on May 26, 2021.

product review
2

About the Creator

Michala

I'm a 20-something freelance writer and aspiring tattoo artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.