Longevity logo

Hello, Mother Nature, Good to Meet You

Ways to Connect Spiritually to Mother Nature

By Kelly ParraPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Monterey, California/Kelly Parra

I was born in an agricultural town in California. I lived with my single mom and we constantly moved homes. I grew up with MTV, movies, and video games. Pretty much my entertainment always involved a television screen.

By the time I hit middle school and high school, I became a little more active. My body yearned to run and play sports, but the outdoors still didn't appeal to me. As an adult, I became a mother and a writer. I stayed home and wrote, and I took care of my family. I began to feel unwell. I was tired, sometimes foods would affect me with an upset stomach, body aches, and skin irritations. When I would get upset, I would cry hard. I had stress and I didn't know why. Soon I realized something was disconnected from me. I was typically happy but for some reason, there was an emptiness within me at times.

I began to read online articles and books about health and diet. I altered my diet and that helped. My body didn't hurt and my digestion was better. However, I still felt I was searching for something on the internet and in books. Searching for some kind of answer, but I couldn't for the life of me figure out what I was looking for.

I finally realized what I wanted and needed more in my life was joy. I loved my family. I worked. I did things that were fun. I did everything you're supposed to do in life, but I had a disconnect from a true understanding of my inner self; my spirituality. Not just the face you show the world, but the part of you that's deeper and part of an inner instinct.

When you have a moment, sit very still in the quiet and ask yourself, "How do I feel?" What answer do you receive? Are you okay? Are you happy? Are you sad? Angry? Nervous? Fearful? Any emotion at all?

If you discover there are no feelings of peace, happiness, or joy, you may need to connect to your inner self. There are different ways to connect to your spirituality, and one way is to introduce yourself to Mother Nature. Here are some ideas…

Earthing

Earthing is the act of going barefoot and walking on grass or living nature. Through the bottoms of your feet, you're physically connecting to the Earth's vibration. Thirty minutes a day can help reduce stress and ease your spirit. Whenever I can, I take off my shoes and socks and walk around my grass. I soon feel a sense of peace and freedom.

The Beach

The beach calls to me. I walk barefoot on the sand and feel like I can walk forever. The sound of the ocean waves and the feel of the wind across my face is such a beautiful feeling. I feel peaceful and whole.

Sitting Outside

I hardly ever would sit outside. Now I'm outside as much as I can. I soak up the sun rays for some natural Vitamin D. I listen to the birds chirping. I smell the roses in my garden, and I simply sit and enjoy the outdoors.

Walking

I used to drive everywhere. Even to places a half mile away. Now if I can, I walk. Sometimes I stroll, sometimes I walk fast. My heartbeat picks up, and afterward, I feel revived and fresh. I look around me. I see the grass, the trees, other people. I look up at the sky dotted with clouds. I see life. I see Mother Nature.

Hiking

When I can get out of town, I love to hike on trails. Surrounding myself with Mother Nature eases my soul. There's no stress around me. It's natural. It's quiet. I have nothing to worry about or think about. I focus only on what I am feeling at that moment, hiking in beautiful surroundings.

Touch

Our society is fast-paced. I think we may take for granted the simple things in life, such as touch. It's important to realize every sense we have is a gift. When I go outside, I remember to touch the natural things around me. I touch plants. Trees. Blades of grass. Rose petals. Rocks. Dirt. I feel an open connection to Mother Nature that is wonderful.

Bring in the Outdoors

I never wanted plants around me or my home. Plants did not appeal to me. Now I can't stop bringing them into my home. Whatever you feel most connected to from the outdoors, bring a piece of it inside. I surround myself with succulents and plants that are good for our air. I have pebbles and a few seashells displayed. I open my windows to let in the fresh air and the sounds of the birds.

We sometimes forget that our ancestors lived from the lands. They built their homes, hunted for their food, and clothed themselves all from Mother Nature. If you find yourself disconnected from life or something is missing, try a few of these suggestions and introduce yourself to Mother Nature and then ask yourself, "How do I feel?"

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Parra

Kelly is a lifestyle writer and published author located in Central Coast, California. She's been known to enjoy yoga, hiking, and matcha lattes. Visit her blog at KellyParra.life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.