Longevity logo

Hello Darkness My Old Friend

How I Discovered the Joy of Running at Night

By Brendan BlowersPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Safety first: running at night with a buddy.

It was just after 9:30 on a weeknight. I had already completed the marathon that is putting young kids to bed. The light rain that fell off and on throughout the day had finally stopped. I could hear the frogs croaking in the pond behind my house at the end of the lane.

"This is going to sound odd, but I think I'm going to go for a run," I said to my wife.

Minutes later, I stepped off my porch in my white Nikes, turned on my headlamp and began jogging down the middle of the puddled street.

I would have been happy with elevating my heart rate and burning off a little restless energy. Instead, I enjoyed a fully immersive peak experience.

Running at night has several advantages that seem to be amplified by the cool calm of a sunless world.

There's A Welcome Minimalism to Running at Night

When I run during the day, I spend time deciding what to wear, fiddle with a fitness tracker on my phone, select a playlist to thump through my air pods and consult Google maps to choose a route. The actual joy of running takes a backseat to the routine of preparing to go for a run.

For this run, the route didn't matter since it was already dark. I stayed close to home and focused on lapping a large circle through my neighborhood.

I left my air pods behind since hearing was a necessity with visibility reduced. At first, I wondered if I'd be able to run as far without music to motivate me. In minutes, the hypnotic sound of the crickets outside faded to a low hum as I became focused on the reassuring sound of my own steady breath and the crisp crunch of my sneakers on the pavement.

Staring at the bouncing headlight ring a few feet in front of me, I got into a deep flow and felt the dopamine release of runner's high faster than I ever had before.

It was refreshing to feel the cool night air on the back of my neck. I also didn't have to break my cadence to wait at intersections to avoid passing cars. With the streets wide and empty, I felt a freedom I had never enjoyed running in the middle of the day at the park or on a trail.

Since I was running a loop, it took until I had passed my house the fourth or fifth time for me to realize that I was running twice as far as I usually do.

My head felt clear, my limbs were loose, and I felt well-exercised without being overtired. I wondered if other night runners shared a similar experience? While people have different circadian rhythms, I think night running could offer some universal benefits.

Other Advantages to Night Running

In addition to not having to dodge traffic. Running at night puts an end cap on a hectic daily schedule.

I work a high-demand job and raise two children (one of whom has special needs) the hours between when the kids go to bed and when my own head hits the pillow is the most uninterrupted time I ever have. Why spend it zoning out on the internet when I could be doing something that's actually good for the mind and body?

Another advantage to night running is that it got me doing something healthy during a period of the day (early evening) when it's very easy to make poor health choices. Eating and drinking too much of the wrong things tend to happen for many of us in the evening if we're not careful. On nights when I stay up too late being idle, I'll often reach for the cookie jar.

My nightime run also gave me the benefit of burning off any excess dinner calories I had consumed (it was burrito night).

People who normally shower in the morning will have to adjust to showering at night after a run, but the warm shower I took after being in the cooler night air sped up my recovery and helped prepare my body for sleep.

Always Run Safely

Running is never without any risks, but safety should especially be considered for a night run.

Trust your instincts. If you feel the least bit unsafe where you've decided to run, invite a buddy to come along. You can also clip on a small can of mace to repel animals (who may be more active at night) or any other unwanted attention.

Always wear a headlamp; you may even want to invest in a reflective vest. You should be easy to see and dressed so that it is obvious that you are exercising.

Run in an open location that has a few street lamps or porch lights lit around you. You may also feel less isolated running in an area near a public place where a few people are guaranteed to be within earshot.

Persistence Through Darkness

Regular exercise is key to consistent well being. A common excuse for not doing it is not having the time.

Running at night is less disruptive to work schedules and daily obligations. It may cause you to miss prime time television, but skipping that may also improve your health and well-being.

There's something empowering about the novelty of running outside when most people are behind closed doors staring at screens.

All of the troubling thoughts that cluttered my mind during the day disappeared while I was out kicking my heels down under the twinkling stars.

You'll probably discover in less than a mile if night running is right for you. The only way you'll ever find out is to set a pace through the dark.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Brendan Blowers

Brendan is a former writer for Haute Living and current contributing editor to atHome magazine. He also manages communications for a Southeast-leading architecture and design firm.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.